General Update

We’re back from Disneyland, and hopefully that means I’m back to the blog a bit more regularly.  I don’t have very many Disney pictures posted yet – I have to get my best ones together and put them up on flickr, then I’ll put them up here.  I haven’t had a ton of computer time, but slowly, one at a time, they’ll be put up, I’m sure Smile

We had a great time, though.  It was pretty interesting, at times, traveling with my in-laws, but overall, I’m so glad that we did.  They were able to watch the kids on occasion so we could do things like go on the big kid rides Winking smile  The kids really enjoyed the trip.  Birdie really doesn’t travel well.  She’s only good on the plane for about an hour and then she wants Down!  Off!  And pretty much for everyone to stop touching her.  I don’t blame her, but it makes the last 2 hours of a flight pretty sucky.  Kitten loved everything.  The princesses.  The rides.  The beach.  Sea World.  I’m really glad that we did this at this age – she had a wonderful time.  She wasn’t the most well behaved kid, but I think she did well considering. 

Rob and I had a nice time.  I tried some of the rollercoasters that I was too afraid to last time (Matterhorn, Big Thunder Mountain), and decided that some of the rides I loved last time were completely lame (Indiana Jones, Pirates).  We also got a chance to eat at the Blue Bayou, the restaurant inside the Pirates of the Caribbean ride.  My favorite part of the whole trip was eating at the Jazz Kitchen Express.  ZOMG.  I would have THE hardest time keeping Primal/Paleo if we had one here!  I didn’t get to try everything on their menu, although I would have really liked to.  I love the bread pudding and bignets the most, though.  We also got to try out Sonic’s Drive-In, Carls Jr and In-and-Out (sooooo good!  I wish we had IiO here!!).

I also had a bit of a snafu with my back.  I’m not sure what happened, although it was likely a combo of rollercoasters, sleeping funny and not bending over properly, but I completely threw it out and had to visit a chiropractor.  If you ever need a chiropractor in Anaheim, near Disneyland, I really recommend Dr. Eskew.  He was very professional, and I felt miles better after my adjustment.  He also recommended an ib profen regimen for the next few days, and gave me a bunch of stretches to do if I felt like that area was seizing up again.  Such a good experience! 

Currently, we’re working at getting the kids back to their usual routine for bedtime/naps/morning wake up time.  Birdie has been the most out of sorts, but Kitten has been a bit of a trial as well.  Hopefully everything will be straightened out by the end of the week. 

Rob is back at work today.  He had a nice, long vacation.  It was really great to have him home for the extra days between returning home and going back to work.  Kitten is pretty lonely for him today and bummed he’s not home. 

The day after we got home, I started the Whole 30.  Previous to our trip I was eating along the Primal Blueprint guidelines, and had lost about 7 lbs in 3 weeks.  It wasn’t easy to give up the sugar, grains and legumes, but not terribly hard.  This time (especially after eating very little but over-processed carbs for almost 2 weeks), giving up the sugar/grain/legumes PLUS dairy and natural sweeteners (honey, pure maple syrup, etc.) has been excruciating.  I feel like such a wuss.  Part of the point of the Whole 30 is to stop your current food habits and start new ones.  I know that I use food to improve my mood, and that’s really not the POINT of food, you know?  So I really want to change that.  I also want to see if my allergies and a few other health issues clear up a bit being casein/gluten/sugar free.  I’ve heard reports that it can.  So we’ll see. 

Today I’m on day 5 and I’m exhausted.  I know that this is normal when giving up sugars and grains.  Yesterday I was full of The Crank, because I just wanted some sugar.  Ha ha.  Days 4-6 are supposed to be the hardest, and after that you’re supposed to start feeling better.  I know this to be true because I already went through it last time, before our trip.  I just have to stick it out for a few more days.  I’m looking forward to losing the 5 lbs I gained on our trip, that’s for sure!  And I’m interested to see if I lose much more beyond that.  More importantly, I’ll be very interested to see which foods I am most sensitive to after I’m done.  This way it will be easier to figure out which things are worth the discomfort after eating. 

I’ve also been trying to move towards buying foods from the farmers market, and am working towards buying some grass-fed meat.  But I really need to get a deep freeze before I can do so.  It’s been an interesting adventure, trying to find local meat.  Mostly because the majority of producers I have emailed have had discontinued email addresses on the Eat Wild website.  Ha ha. 

If you are interested in doing some more reading on the Paleo diet, here’s a few websites you can look at (warning: not all of them kid appropriate due to language)

Those are some good places to start.  The Primal/Paleo community believes that evolution is a scientific fact.  If this is not your view, you might be annoyed by this in the articles.  However, there is still good information to be gleaned from the websites.  I found, overall, that the focus of this “diet” or “lifestyle” is on food QUALITY.  What’s the point of drinking your calories in a sugar drink that lends NOTHING to health, etc. 

Anyway, enough ranting for today.  I’m tired.  I’m a tiny bit cranky.  I’m on day 5, and I know that in a few days I’ll be feeling better.  It’s my intention on blogging what I’m feeling and up to, as well as my favorite things we’ve eaten while on this crazy journey. 

One thought on “General Update

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed Disneyland and sorry I missed you there! But really, Indy and Pirates aren’t lane. You just can’t expect them to be thill rides along the same lines as Space Mountain.

    Also: I don’t think I want to move anywhere where there isn’t an In-N-Out.

Comments are closed.