Coming Together

I’ve been very proactive in preparing for Kitten’s birthday party this year.  A few weeks ago, she picked out her theme (Abby Cadabby), and tonight we picked up the remainder of the “stuff” we need for the party.  Including a 2 foot tall Abby Cadabby pinata!  Which I have to store for over a month (I have no idea where to put it so it doesn’t get ruined and the cats don’t get after it).  I have a few things left to pick up for treat bags, I have to figure out how I’m decorating the cupcakes (but I know what the insides will look like – more on that another day), and I have a few things left to pick up or make for the big day.  Specifically, a #3 shirt for Kitten, a tutu and matching magic wand, and the stuffing for the pinata (seriously, how do you make that little ~ above the N when you’re on the computer?  Gah.).

I’m very excited about the party, but not nearly as excited as Kitten is!  I can’t even tell you.  She loves to talk about “July’s Birthday Party!  In the park!”  I don’t think she realizes that it’s going to be HER birthday, not someone named “July”.  Ha ha.  Pretty much everything she loves right now is Abby Cadabby, and we’re really doing it up this year.  I have very well preserved memories from as early as three, so I know that she might actually remember this party, so I want it to be good.  Not too over the top, but good. 

So I’m feeling really productive about her party.  I know I’m going to have to do some experimenting on the cupcake decorations, because I just don’t know how I’m going to decorate these cupcakes.  I could order some printed edible icing things, but they’re kind of lame, in my opinion.  At least on cupcakes – they look cool on sheet cakes (we’re opting for the easiest in eating options, seeing as how we’ll be at the park).  I thought about trying to make each cupcake look like Abby’s face, but that sounds like a lot of work, and I’m not sure that I”m that talented.  I thought that there were some stick things you could poke in the cupcakes, but I can’t seem to find any online now.  I could buy a 4 pack of cupcake rings, but only 1 of the four are Abby, so I’d have a lot of other Sesame Street character’s left over.  ::sigh::  If you have any ideas, let me know.  🙂

In other news, Birdie slept for 10 hours in a row last night.  10 hours!  I know!  I don’t expect any kind of repeat performance, but dude.  It was awesome.  It would have been MORE awesome if there wasn’t a car alarm beeping for over half an hour in the morning (before I had to get up)… but you know.  I was feeling like leaving a VERY passive agressive note on the car, but decided it wasn’t worth the effort.  Seriously, though, I moved away from downtown for a reason, and car alarms are part of that reason!  So annoyed.

I have no new pictures for you today, but have patience, Young Grasshopper… I just have to put new batteries in my camera.  Heh.

2 thoughts on “Coming Together

  1. Ok, i”m thinking somehow make Abby’s “Cellular Wand” stick out of the cupcakes…
    No thoughts on how to accomplish that just yet but that’s what I’ve got on my limited brain cells (needless to say, your Birdie is doing much better than my little one – never have I gotten 10 hours…Congrats!)
    Sounds like a fun party!

    If I come up with a cellular wand idea…I’ll get back to you. (maybe decorate some dum dum suckers by wrapping them with something fluffy and fairy wand-like?)

Comments are closed.