A Year in Review, 2009

I snagged this from myself from last year.  It seemed like a good year end thing to do…

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before? 

I started to knit for money.  This took a lot of courage for me, as I’m always worried that someone won’t like what I’ve knit.  I haven’t made scads of money doing it, but enough that I can buy more yarn for projects for us.  Plus it’s just nice to have something to keep busy (not that I really need it… but you know what I mean). 

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? 

My resolutions for 2009 were as follows: 1) Become a better housekeeper, 2) Procrastinate less.  I think I will say that I’ve become a better housekeeper for sure.  My house gets cleaned once a week, and while it does get dirty/cluttered in between, I don’t feel as though I’m drowning in clutter/dust/unfinished tasks.  Is it perfect?  By all means, no – I have a 2 year old, and spent half of this past year pregnant… so things are probably not white-glove-test worthy… but I figure that if my house was *that* clean either we’ve hired help or I’m not spending enough time with the kidlet.  As for the procrastination… I still do it.  Mostly, I allow myself to get distracted by things that maybe I don’t need to be distracted by.  So some stuff is really current, and some isn’t.  And that’s probably ok.

For 2010… My goals are very non-committal.  I’d like to stop blaming my parents for stuff… both in jest and in honest truth.  They did the best they could, and there’s no reason to run around saying “Oh, this is all my mom’s fault, I wish she hadn’t done XYZ when I was a kid, I wouldn’t be this messed up/neurotic/whatever”.  Frankly, *I’m* going to the be mom some day (I mean, I am a mom now, but I will be the mom in the above sentence), and I think it would break my heart to hear my kids blame all their issues on me (granted, I’m sure that I will cause a lot).  As for other goals… I think that I would like to vary my crafting a bit – I’m very focused on knitting, and I’d like to do a bit more sewing and maybe some more scrapbooking.  I’m not sure I scrapbooked a single page in 2009.  Seriously.  I’d like to do more of that.  I think I’d like to have more date nights again, but I can’t complain too much – we usually get out of the house without Kitten once or twice a month.  It’s usually to play games with our friends (so, not a date night in my mind), but I wish that we could get out to the movies or just to window shop a little more often.  I have a feeling this will be even harder after the baby is born. 

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? 

My sister-in-love had a wonderful baby boy this year.  My friend, and former neighbour, L had a beautiful baby girl (who cries when I look at her… but in my defense, I’ve only seen her twice in the past 6 months!)

4.  Did anyone close to you die?

I don’t think so. 

5.  What countries did you visit?

We went with Rob’s folks to Hawaii this year.  Kitten really loved being in Hawaii, although travelling with her was a bit of a trial.  Also, the flight down had the worst turbulence I’ve ever experiences – the plane shook for over two hours.  The pilots tried so hard to find some smooth air, but couldn’t – even they were uncomfortable with the amount of shaking all over the place.  I wasn’t really worried about crashing, but I don’t enjoy the sensation of wiggling all over the sky – especially knowing there is nothing below us but deep, cold water.  We tried to pass the time with Yo Gabba Gabba videos, but that only helps so much.   

6.  What do you want from 2010 that you lacked in 2009?

More sleep.  I’d like to spend more time with Rob.

7.  What dates from 2009 will remain etched in your memory?

Our trip to Calgary with Rob’s family – I was so tired and grumpy and just didn’t feel well.  The moment we got home, I took a pregnancy test, and guess what!  I was pregnant – no wonder I wasn’t interested in the amusement park and just wanted to sleep!  Ha ha!  Rob threw me a great birthday party this year, which was super fun.  I will remember 2009 as the year that my baby (Kitten) grew up to be a little girl.  From her birthday pictures looking like a GIRL and not a baby, to discovering in December that her baby feet were gone, she definitely grew leaps and bounds this year.  The kerfuffle with our washing machine, and sobbing on the phone to the guy from Futureshop because he ordered me the wrong colour washer and dryer (I know!  My life is HARD!  I was hormonal… err… there’s no excuse for this, is there?).

8.  What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Keeping up with the house.  Knitting 7 fish hats and some awesome winter wear for my sister.

9.  What was your biggest failure?

I didn’t do as much homeschooling stuff with Kitten as I wanted to/should have.  I don’t think I was as calm and cool as I should have been, and I think that both Kitten and Rob have been on the receiving end of one too many of my “moods”. 

I tried to potty train Kitten and she would have NO part in it.  I don’t think I really “failed” in this regard, but it was something that I couldn’t make happen, no matter what.

10.  Did you suffer illness or injury?

I have mild PSD from my pregnancy (pelvis issues).  I sprained my ankle on Dec. 23rd, although it was mostly better by the 27th, and was perfectly fine after the chiropractor adjusted it.  I had the world’s worst cold some time in the early fall.  We managed to avoid the swine flu this year!

11.  What was the best thing you bought? 

Our new washer and dryer.  Honestly, I will still take time out of my day to *watch* my laundry washing, and listen to the very wet swishy noises that this machine makes.  I still get the giggles to watch is spray water on the load, as well as watching to make sure the bubbles come out of the diapers. 

My Clinique skin care stuff.  Honestly, I can’t even tell you how different my skin is.  Plus, I love that you get free stuff a few times a year.

The Graco Nautilus carseat for Kitten.  She loves it, and frees up the True Fit for the new baby.  She can actually reach the cup holder in this one, and has fallen asleep in the care (she would NEVER do this in the true fit). 

12.  Whose behaviour merited celebration?

Erg.  This question always has me kerfuffled.  I’m so proud that my one brother got engaged, and that they are planning on getting married this year.  I’d like to say that Rob has handled my special brand of Crazy with grace and poise (for the most part).  And that my mom/sister/friends haven’t told me to shut the heck up yet with all my pregnancy whining. 

13.  Who’s bahaviour made you appalled and depressed?

Um, I don’t know?  Last year I said the Canadian Gov’t.  Maybe I’d like to throw the Albertan gov’t under the bus this year – I’m sick to death of all the health care cut backs that have been going on.  I’m exceptionally frustrated that we continue to see programs axed and jobs terminated, even though the gov’t is routinely saying that there are no problems with our healthcare.  Really?  is that why we’re *still* waiting to get in to the pediatric allergist?  MORONS.

14.  Where did most of your money go?

Mortgage, bills, and into stuff.  We saved a goodly chunk of change, but we were more liberal with our spending this year than last year.  We increased our food budget (food, glorious food!), which adds up quite quickly, really.

15.  What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Knitting, Stargate (the entire cannon), Battlestar Galactica and playing Dungeons & Dragons.  Getting pregnant with #2, seeing a midwife, and planning a home birth.  Finishing the landscaping in the yard. 

16.  What song will always remind you of 2008?

Um, dude.  I have no idea.  I didn’t go out as much this past year, so I didn’t listen to music in the car as much.  We didn’t attend any concerts, or really even buy any new CD’s.  Maybe Bob Marley’s Three Little Birds (Kitten loves to sing this song), and Pokerface by Lady Gaga (or the best ever parody, Neutraface… look it up on youtube). 

17.  Compared to this time last year, are you:

a) Happier or Sadder: Same

b) thinner or fatter: Fatter… but not by much, I’ve managed to not gain very much excess pregnancy weight, in my opinion.

c) richer or poorer:  About the same.  Maybe richer, only because we’ve learned to manage our money better.

18.  What do you wish you’d done more of?

Visited with my friends, taught Kitten things, got outside more.

19.  What do you wish you’d done less of?

I wish I could have spent less time doing housework (but with the same results).  Ha ha.  Does that count?  I don’t feel like I really wasted a ton of time this past year. 

20.  How did you spend Christmas?

We enjoyed Christmas with Rob’s family on the 24th and Christmas with my mom & family on the 25th.  We had a lot of other things in and around those days, which was very overwhelming, but we survived.  Every year I say that next year I want to be less busy and spend more time at home… and that never happens.   

21.  Did you fall in love in 2009?

Does Spike from Buffy the Vampire Slayer count?  Ha ha.  I guess I fell in love with the Belly Bean, but until she’s born, I wouldn’t say that I’m head over heels for her yet.

22.  What was your favorite TV program?

Stargate, specifically SG-1.  I also really enjoyed watching Battlestar Galactica (all four seasons) and Survivor this year.

23.  Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

I don’t think so.  I find that people I dislike I find I am more apathetic towards vs. passionately hating them. 

24.  What was the best book you read? 

I didn’t read a lot this year.  You would think that would mean that it would be easier for me to list which ones were the best… but no.  I very much enjoyed Moon Called by Patricia Briggs, and Birthing From Within by Pam England.  I have enjoyed a few new children’s books, like Hello Baby by Jenny Overend, and Llama llama Mad at Mama by Anna Dewdney.

25.  What was your greatest musical discovery?

Um, Rob’s imagination?  Honestly, I don’t feel like I got in to any new music this year, but I was always entertained listening to Rob sing made-up songs to Kitten about whatever topic she requested (mostly princesses). 

26.  What did you want and get?

Pregnant.  And a lot of material items, I’m not even going to list them all.  Our biggest ticket item was probably the washer dryer set. 

27.  What did you want and not get?

Much sleep since July?  Ha ha. 

28.  What was your favorite film of this year?

Coraline is probably one of the stand-outs for this year, along with Star Trek.

29.  What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 28 this year.  We had a big party with all our friends and family, it was a total blast.  Rob bought me a swift and ball winder (very important knitting things 😉 ).

30.  What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Sleep?  ha ha.  No, seriously, I haven’t sleep well in about 3 months.  I know this isn’t a big deal to some of you *cough*Carolyn*cough*… but it really bothers me.  I think I would have been more satisfied if I had been able to stick to my more homemade habits in the kitchen.  But pregnancy has really reduced my desire to do things like bake bread. 

31.  How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?

Trying not to look fat.  Mostly, it was wearing the same pair of jeans day in and out for 4 months until I fit some of my other maternity clothes.  I suppose that during the first half of the year I just tried to look nice – not too dressy, but not too slummy either.

32.  What kept you sane?

Knitting while watching TV. Having games nights with friends.  Beer.  

33.  Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? 

Richard Dean Anderson (Jack O’Neill from SG-1) and James Marsters (Spike from Buffy)

34.  What political issue stirred you the most? 

Hmmm… I don’t keep up very much these days.  Mostly I don’t have the desire to be bothered by political things.  I am really disappointed with the gov’t program cuts in Alberta, but otherwise… yeah.  I don’t care enough right now?  

35.  Who did you miss?

I definitely missed L, who moved many miles away. 

36.  Who was the best new person you met?

All my new knitting friends.  I know that I technically met them in 2008, but I think I became a lot closer to them in 2009, and especially to Peg. 

37.  Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009.

You, too, can quit coffee cold turkey if it triggers morning sickness.  Um… 

38.  Quote a Song Lyric that sums up your year.

“Singing don’t worry, bout a thing, every little thing, it’s gonna be all right” ~ Three Little Birds by Bob Marley.

2 thoughts on “A Year in Review, 2009

  1. Pingback: Scrapbook.com: Supplies and Scrapbooking Ideas « Scrappy's Link Scrapbook

  2. awwwww right back atcha, aquagirl! (yes, yes I CAN call you that because we HAVE been to aquasize once. AND because you looked so terribly cute with your pool noodle 😉 hee

Comments are closed.