Fishy Business

I’ve been working on some Christmas knitting, as I’ve decided to knit my nieces & nephews hats and mittens for Christmas instead of buying (more) toys.  I hoping that all my brothers & sisters (and inlaws) like the idea, but I guess we’ll see at Christmas time. 

Here’s my first finished project.  I am actually really thrilled with the results.  The pattern for the hat is here, and the pattern for the mittens are here.  To add the dorsal fin on to the mittens, I used the same technique as on the hat.  I picked up 5 stitches, then knit front and back across all the stitches, then did an 1×1 rib for 5 rows.  I cast off knit wise.  That’s the only alteration to the pattern that I made.  I then stitched on the eyes and called it a day.  Oh, I changed colour for the decreases in the finger portion of the mittens, then did the last three rows of the thumbs in the other colour as well.  There are lots of different ways (colour-wise) to do mittens, so this is just how I chose to do these ones.  The next ones might be different 😉

The colour of the yarn is a little different.  It’s been awful overcast and yucky here lately, so I had to use the flash on my camera, and we all know how that can change things.  Anyway, here they are!

R's Fish Hat with mittens

Fish Hat!

One thought on “Fishy Business

  1. Hah! I LOVE these. They are adorable and silly. I think the kids will love them too. I know mine would.

    And as a parent. I would much rather my kids got these than another princess barbie or Littlest pet shop animal. Much rather.

Comments are closed.