Washing Machine Conundrum

We are at a bit of an impasse here.  Our 4 year old Frigidaire washing machine sucks.  It’s been ever so slowly NOT washing our clothes, and while *most* of our stuff has made out ok, there are a few stains in things that I am kind of cranky about (ie. shorts that Kitten peed on, with pee stains – these are dark purple shorts, people… pee should wash out of things, and my white bedding that has slowly turned yellow as it has filled with body oils).  So, we’ve decided to do something about it.

First, we decided to just replace the washing machine.  I was planning on getting the new LG machine, with all the bells and whistles.  It’s shiny and red and has an “add water” feature (plus about a zillion other features that I didn’t know about until I read the owners manual).  I was/am fairly excited about this machine, although not terribly thrilled about the bill.  We have the money set aside for it, so it’s not a “big deal” in that regard, but dude.  $$$. 

Then, I talked to Rob’s folks and they kind of convinced me that we should remodel our laundry room so we can get a (reliable) top loader.  You know, an old school washing machine.  The reason we would have to remodel is because when we bought the house, we had the builder build up a ledge in the laundry room to put the front loading washing machine and dryer on.  I thought that it was so clever – we wouldn’t have to buy the pricey pedestals for the machines, and tralalalala everything would be perfect.  Well, I *have* to have a front loader now, because if I get a top loader and it becomes unbalances and decides to “take a walk”, it will fall off the ledge (and through the wall – the laundry room is *very* small), so that is kind of out of the picture for us.  Anyway, it would be A LOT of work to remodel the area – remove all the lino and lay down new stuff, take out the ledge, put up gyprock and repaint, put up new baseboards, cut the drain in the floor under the washer down.  All a giant PITA.  Rob HAAAAATES this idea.  He is definitely in the “lets NOT remodel” camp. 

So now I’m back to the idea of my shiny new LG machine.  But I want to know: what would YOU do?  Remodel and get the top loader (it will come out to about the same cost as the fancy front loader), or just buy the new machine?  Or is there a 3rd option? 

6 thoughts on “Washing Machine Conundrum

  1. Have you tried several different detergents? do you have the same problems with all of them? I ask because we have a brand new washing machine and when I used the norwex detergent I had beautiful clean sheets with no dinge and now that i’ve run out and am using different biodegradable/enviro friendly ones my sheets are all dingey from body oils… I’ve got an order in for more norwex coming up so I’ll be able to tell if it’s different, but mine is an LG (bough in october – so pretty darn new and very expensive – the one down from the steam one – we paid $5500 for the pair)

    I just looked at the link and are machines are SO similar and we’re using the detergent they reccomend (the Attitude one) and my sheets don’t get “CLEAN”

    I love the machine, everything else cleans great, I love the stain cycle for my white duvet (but it doesn’t help with the sheets), the tub clean function is great (but requires real bleach not the envrio friendly alternatives), the add water, and extra rinse functions are SO handy

    • I have tried LOTS of different detergents. I’ve used homemade (borax, washing soda, soap), Norwex, Nellies, Sunlight Sensitive, straight up Tide, Natureclean, Soap nuts… basically, you name it, I’ve tried it. I’ve also stripped my machine using both the washing machine cleaner and RLR.

      I think when I used my mom’s machine, we used Cheer plus 3 tablespoons of Borax. We put it on the extra extra long wash, with a sanitary cycle. I’m wondering if the extra hot water helped get the body oils out?

      I know that now machine will be perfect, and part of the challenge of washing clothes here is that the water is SO HARD. However, ANYTHING has got to be better than what we have now.

  2. Old school, DUDE, DO NOT listen to Rob’s Mom. That is a terrible idea. Those washers are SO HARD on clothes and use so much more water. Plus, wouldn’t it cost just as much if not more to remodel your room? Don’t do it, she’s just jealous that you’d have a fantastic machine. DO NOT do that you silly girl!!!!

    • For cloth diapers, the old school machines are way better. Considering the number of rinses I have to do currently, I would have to do one, MAYBE two with a top loader… so it would actually use less water (IMO). Anyway, as my mom pointed out, cloth diapering is going to only be a fraction of our laundry, for the life of the machine, which is a good point. And top loader are way harder on clothes, that’s totally true. I think that Rob’s mom is unsatisfied with her front loader (it’s not a very good one) and has decided that *all* front loaders don’t work very well.

      In the end, it would probably cost about the same to do the remodel (there’s not a ton to do, and all the labour would be free), so we wouldn’t save money either way. MIL is fairly confident that FIL could fix a top loader, but they’re really not making them the same way any more, and it’s not a sure thing to bank on… we still might have expensive repair bills in the future. Besides, I’d rather that FIL work on our basement. 🙂

      Did you buy the extended warranty? We’re thinking about it, then it would cover parts & labour for up to 5 years… which is better than just the one year that it comes with (on the labour side, anyway). It’s really hard to know what to do – extended warranty is usually totally worth it if you use it, but a waste of $$ if you don’t. ::shrugs::

      Right now, our argument is whether we should get silver or red. Rob wishes we could get white (to match the dryer), but that isn’t available to us. Maybe we could save our money up, and buy the matching dryer once the next set of models come out, and it goes on sale/is reduced in price.

  3. what about something like this http://www.homedepot.com/Appliances-Laundry-Front-Load-Washers/h_d1/N-5yc1vZ1xr5Zb9bz/R-100669790/h_d2/ProductDisplay?langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10053 or even this one seems close to what you want but a bit cheaper http://www.homedepot.com/Appliances-Laundry-Front-Load-Washers/h_d1/N-5yc1vZ1xr5Zb9bz/R-100662130/h_d2/ProductDisplay?langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10053 even says they have free shipping. Either way I would suggest going with whatever you want because your the one that has to use it and live with it 🙂

    • Sadly, I live in Canada, and I don’t think that homedepot.com will ship up here at those prices! 😀 The second one that you linked is exactly the machine I’m looking at buying, but it WAY more expensive here.

      We looked at a few more machines today, including one that is almost the same as the one I want, but has a less fancy display. Rob really likes the fancy one, and if he’s happy to spend a little extra on the one that he’ll feel good about looking at (not that he EVER does the laundry… but whatevs), then who am I to argue? 😉

      Oh, and definitely want the bigger machine. I know that .3 of a cubic foot isn’t much, but I will take as much capacity as I can! LOL!

Comments are closed.