Trip to Sephora

So I’m a “bee in my bonnet” type girl – once I get an idea in my head, I’ve really got to go with it.  So last night I trucked off to Sephora to see if I could find the Philosophy “On a Clear Day” skin care set (it’s the one I had picked out online).  When I got to Sephora, they didn’t have it in stock, and I was very disappointed.  So the sales girl tried to tell me that it had these three products in it… but totally the wrong products.  She had thought I meant the “Makeup Optional” kit… which has completely different stuff.  She wasn’t even sure if they were getting the On a Clear Day, or when they’d be getting it, but they might be?  Because they don’t have the full line of stock in yet?  ::sigh::

So I had her show me the rest of their acne specific skin care stuff.  They had a Clinique set that I was kind of ho hum about (and wouldn’t buy there, because it’s gift time at either the Bay or Sears, I forget which), as well as two Very Serious acne lines.  I was also kind of ho hum about those two – one I knew I wouldn’t use half the items because I don’t really care to use a “mattifying serum”, because my skin isn’t that oily… just pimply and I’m not all that patient for a 15 minute mask, either.  The other Very Serious set was just very strong – a dermatologist strenth kit, that I didn’t *really* think I needed, at least not at this point in my life.

So my other option was Juice Beauty(I’m sure I had more options, but this was the only other kit, unless I wanted to wait for the philosophy one – and they didn’t carry the On a Clear Day in seperate items either).  So I figured for $51 (yeesh) I could try it.  It’s a lot of money to be out if I don’t like it, but comparatively, not awful.  I suppose that I could have got something at the drug store for MUCH cheaper, but I think I’m happy with this line.  It’s certified organic, contains no yucky preservatives, and has very low concentrations of salacilyc acid and the other nasties that are used to cleanse your skin.  I sincerely hope that it works well, otherwise I’m going to have at least another  month of craptastic skin! Ha ha. 

The girl that explained it to me didn’t really understand the products at all, but that’s all good, because I can read directions.  Yay me.

So I tried it last night.  I washed my face, used the peel (a mask you leave on for 5-10 minutes once a week), the blemish clearing serum, and the moisturizer.  Here are my initial thoughts:

  • The cleanser is ok.  I don’t love the smell, but at least it doesn’t reek of awful perfumes.  My skin felt fairly clean after, although slightly tight, but lets be honest – I haven’t washed my face with cleanser in a very, very long time.  So it could be in reaction to that.
  • The peel smells even worse than the cleanser.  It’s supposed to be made out of green apples, but it doesn’t smell like that to me.  I understand that they don’t use any fragrances or perfumes, and yay on that, but it means that the product smells how the product smells.  I’m not sure if you’re supposed to put on a super thick layer of the stuff, but I put it on rather thinly – I didn’t want to use very much of the little pot, I’m hoping that it lasts a long time.  Even if I pick this skin care method to go with for a while, I’m not sure that this is a product that I will continue to buy.  We’ll see how it goes, though.
  • The Blemish Clearing Serum was ok.  You really need so very little of it, even if you spread it all over your face.  This is good news – my teensy one once bottle will last me a while! Ha ha.  I can’t speak as to whether I like it or not.  It doesn’t smell like much, and didn’t sting or anything to go on, so my opinion on this will be fairly results based, I think.
  • The Moisturizer is a little heavier than I would personally pick.  I think I prefer the Philosophy moisturizer.  If it was thinner and “disappeared” off my face right away, I would love love this kit.   I definitely won’t be using the moisturizer at night again.  I just don’t like how it feels.  Maybe I’m just used to the way that my skin feels with its natural oils on it, but this feels way worse than that.  I guess it’s not *awful*, I just don’t love it.  I think I was spoiled by the super light Mary Kay moisturizer that I used before, and now I’m just looking for a replacement that is very much like it.  ::shrugs::  I might also prefer this cream once the weather turns cooler and dryer. 

Over all, my first experience with the Juice Beauty line has been ok.  No reaction to the peel (I did the test patch first), and my skin isn’t overly tight or cranky, so we’ll see how it goes.  I should take before and after pictures, but I’m not sure that my acne is severe enough to really tell the difference.  I am starting to break out, but it’s not too bad yet.  I didn’t want to wait until I was hideous! Ha ha.

