The Kitchen Cure 2009

Have you ever been to the kitchn website?  It’s nice.  I don’t go there often, but every now and then, something Hanna says sends me there.   Mostly I don’t go there out of habit because when I read food blogs, I get hungry.  And I don’t mean “hey, I’m going to make that tasty and oh-so-good-for-me salad” but of the “hey, I think there is chocolate in this drawer from Christmas 2007 AND I’M GOING TO EAT IT ALL!” variety.  So in general?  I stay away from food blogs/websites. 

Anyway, Hanna mentioned the Kitchen Cure, and I thought “hey, I should check that out”.  Not because I need a new kitchen, or that my kitchen is so unhealthy that I need a complete redo… but let’s be honest- it’s not as great as it could be.  So, a day late, I signed up for The Cure 2009 (and I think that you should too).

For our assignments this week, we have to take “before” pictures.  And real before pictures, not the cheaty type ones where you clean up a bit, but the ones where you open the fridge door and take a picture.  So that’s what I did… and here are the results:

BEFORE Pantry

BEFORE Freezer

BEFORE Above the Stove

BEFORE the Fridge

Now that I have that out of the way, I can start on the REAL challenge – cleaning up the fridge, freezer and pantry (and cupboard above my stove because I keep food-type ingredients there too).  We have a full week to do this, but I’ve got a pretty good handle on it. 

Today I:

  • Threw out old food from the freezer, pantry and fridge.  Most of it came from the freezer and pantry.  Fun facts:  I had meat from 2005 in my freezer – this means that I moved it from one location to another.  I had organic granola that went rancid.  Did you know that granola can go rancid?  Well it did, and I can STILL taste it in the back of my throat.  Also: microwave popcorn from 2005 – I assumed that it would be OK to toss.
  • Moved a bunch of bottles/baby stuff out of the pantry and into bags in the basement to wait for our next baby.  This opened up almost a full shelf in the pantry for us.  Seriously, it was bad. 
  • Put the three cereals we use into plastic bins (vs. bags).  The Cheerios & Rice Krispies were smaller amounts, so I ended up using flatish containers for them.  I bought a large pouring container for the Mini Wheats, because those are the ones we use the most.  Once we buy a new box of Cheerios or Rice Krispies, I’ll buy more cereal containers. 
  • I didn’t have as many expired condiments as I thought I would have.  I guess that’s because I went through the fridge recently to get rid of all that crap. 

Things I still want to do in my pantry/fridge/freezer:

  • I would really like to get all my dry goods into plastic or glass containers.  We don’t have a mouse/bug problem, but I don’t want to have to worry about those things, like, ever.  So I should probably be pro-active on this account.  Plus, it makes everything that much neater… I don’t know if I’m the only person who constantly buys the leaking bag of flour… but my floor just can’t take it any more! 
  • I have trays that I will never ever use.  I would like to replace them with one or two that I really like. 
  • I would like to throw out more of the dry goods that I have in my pantry that I have had for a very long time… but I feel like I shouldn’t.  I mean, I might really want to eat those Bran Buds that I bought 2 years ago but that I haven’t touched in the last year.  You know, stuff like that.  Also:  There are spices that I would like to replace, but really can’t afford to just throw them out and buy new ones.  Spices are expensive, yo. 
  • I really want a label maker, so I can print pretty labels for all my containers, so everyone knows what is in them, or what we’re out of if a container is empty.

Ok, that’s where I am right now with the Kitchen Cure 2009.  So, you wanna join in?  It could be fun… 😀

