Year End Meme

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before? 

I felt more comfortable in my house.  I didn’t have the deep desire to got out into the public every day.  I felt less squirely at home.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? 

Las year my resolutions were to be 155 lbs at the end of this year, read more than 25 books, go on more dates with Rob (without Kitten) and finish our scrapbook up to Kitten’s birth.  Most days I hover around the 155 lb mark, so I’d cound that a WIN.  I definitely read more than 25 books in 2008, although I didn’t keep track of them, so that’s a WIN.  I think we started doing family dates more than individual dates, but “more” than none is some, so I guess this is a partial WIN.  I did get more done in my scrapbook, but definitely not as much as I would have like to do, and definitely not as much as I had aimed to, so that makes this a giant FAIL.  But that’s ok. 

In 2009, I’d like to be a better housekeeper, and more efficient with my time.  I think my mantra for 2009 will be “Just Do It” (thank, Nike), because I put everything off until later and stuff never gets done.  So that counts for everything from calling my friends and family to cleaning the house.  As far as weight and stuff goes, I am happy with where I am… plus I’m planning on being pregnant next year some time… so it would be wise not to make any weight-related goals this year.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? 

My sister Jenn, my friend Carolyn & my friend Nicole.

4.  Did anyone close to you die?

I don’t think so. 

5.  What countries did you visit?

None.  We didn’t really do any travelling in 2008, except for going to the mountains (which are in our province). 

6.  What do you want from 2009 that you lacked in 2008?

I’m not sure that I really lacked much of anything in 2008.  Maybe more self-discipline?

7.  What dates from 2008 will remain etched in your memory?

I don’t know.  I’m sure I’ll always remember Christmas and Kitten’s first birthday, but there wasn’t any one day that will stick with me forever.  Maybe the time that I had a panic attack in Costco?  I don’t know what date it was off the top of my head, but it was awful.

8.  What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Having a daughter who is healthy and happy and growing well.  Learning to knit off the internet.

9.  What was your biggest failure?

I went from being a pretty good housekeeper to being exceptionally lazy.  I probably have more failures, but they’re not sticking out right now.

10.  Did you suffer illness or injury?

Not really.  We’ve had the typical colds and sore backs and stuff.  Other than that, my lactose intolerance has flared up, and Kitten may have a shellfish allergy, but I’m not sure that those count.

11.  What was the best thing you bought? 

Yeesh.  I have no idea.  Honestly, we’ve purchased a lot of stuff in the past year.  I’m not sure that there is anything in my mind that stands out.  The Wii?  Our True Fit carseat (LOVE!)?  Music & books? 

12.  Whose behaviour merited celebration?

Um?  I don’t know.  There isn’t anyone in my life that I can think of “wow, that person handled that exceedingly well”.  Not that everyone misbehaved, but nothing stands out.

13.  Who’s bahaviour made you appalled and depressed?

The Canadian government.  Are you childrend, that you can learn to work together?  I can’t believe that my tax money goes to paying for grown men and women to sit around and squable over things rather than finding a solution. 

14.  Where did most of your money go?

Mortgage, bills, and into our savings account so we can pay off our car sooner.

15.  What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Um, cloth diapering, the environment, and Kitten.  She’s changing so much each day! 

16.  What song will always remind you of 2008?

Probably anything off the new Coldplay album and the Barenaked Ladies Snacktime album. 

17.  Compared to this time last year, are you:

a) Happier or Sadder: Happier

b) thinner or fatter: Thinner

c) richer or poorer:  We have less money coming in, but we’re using it a lot better, so I don’t want to say poorer. 

18.  What do you wish you’d done more of?

Played with Kitten, read more books.

19.  What do you wish you’d done less of?

Surf the internet aimlessly.  I need to get on the internet and do what I came to do and then leave. 

20.  How did you spend Christmas?

We had a Christmas Week, and were busy for 5 straight days.  It was intense, and possibly way too much for Kitten.  It was definitely too much for me!  We had a great time, though, and everyone had lots of fun. 

21.  Did you fall in love in 2008?

Not really – I was in love with both of the people that I would be in love with previous to 2008.  I suppose I fell in love with knitting! 🙂

22.  What was your favorite TV program?

I’m not sure.  I watch a fair amount of TV, and it’s hard to chose.  Maybe Legend of the Seeker and Private Practice? 

23.  Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

No, I’m not a big hater.  The neighbour that I disliked moved away, so if anything, I lost negative feelings this year.  To be honest, I’m not as close to some of my friends as I used to be, which is kind of a bummer.

24.  What was the best book you read? 

Yeesh.  You have to know that I read a lot of books, so it’s going to be hard to pick one.  I really loved The Door Within Trilogy by Wayne Thomas Batson.  I also super love the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich, which I read most of this year.

25.  What was your greatest musical discovery?

I rediscovered how good country music can be.  I listened to a lot of music that I have had for ages, it is like visiting with old friends. 

26.  What did you want and get?

Almost anything I wanted.  I can’t say that there was very much that I didn’t get.  I have a cheerful child who likes to sleep.  There’s not much better than that.

27.  What did you want and not get?

I didn’t win any of the bumGenius sweepstakes (some were 18 diapers + wipes + a diaper sprayer, which would have been awesome).  Otherwise there wasn’t much that I didn’t get.  I lead a fairly charmed life.

28.  What was your favorite film of this year?

Dark Knight was a great movie, although it left me feeling very sad.  I saw Elf for the first time and absolutely loved it.  We watched a lot of movies, they just didn’t stand out, you know? 

29.  What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

This year I turned 27.  We had steak & drinks with our new friends (the neighbours), and Rob gave me a DS.

30.  What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

If we had been able to pay off our car this year. 

31.  How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?

All denim, all the time.  Ha ha ha!  Just kidding.  I tried to wear clothing that was comfortable, that hid my soft bits, and laundered well.  Oh, and clean things.  I tried to wear clean clothes as much as possible. 

32.  What kept you sane?

Hmmm… time off from Kitten, playing next door during the day, napping. 

33.  Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? 

Hmmm… I continued my undying love for Jamie Oliver, Stephen Colbert, and Hugh Laurie.  Want to know who I WASN’T drooling over?  Robert Pattinson.

34.  What political issue stirred you the most? 

I was really really annoyed with how long the US election took!  Ha ha ha!  There was also our Canadian election, which I flopped from right to left on several times before voting. 

35.  Who did you miss?

I missed getting to hang out with our friends as much as we were able to in 2007.  Having a baby who likes routine and sleeping in her own bed really dampened our ability to go out.  ::shrugs::  And all my friends who live out of town that I didn’t get a chance to see in 2007.

36.  Who was the best new person you met?

My neighbour L.  We did a lot of stuff together in 2008, and I think it helped me enjoy being at home, and kept me from feeling isolated. 

37.  Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.

If your daughter has the runs and you have the option between cloth diapers and disposibles, GO WITH THE CLOTH!  I will never forget Poop Fest, 2008.  Also, to be content with what you have.  I’m not all the way there yet, but I am learning about how to be content.

38.  Quote a Song Lyric that sums up your year.

“A day without snacktime, well that just isn’t right” ~ Snacktime by the Barenaked Ladies.

