Oh Man!

I can’t WAIT until this gets to my house.  It’s going to be soooo awesome!  Is it not just absolutely gorgey?  I think it’s going to be an itty bitty clutchy type baby blanket.  But it’s only 220 yards, so I’m not sure how far that’s going to go. 

In other news, I finished the “practice” mittens for Kitten.  You’ll notice in the picture below that one is bigger than the other, it’s because I was trying to make the size perfect for Kitten’s little hands. 

Practice Mittens

Perfect Mitten #1 has been completed as well. However, I seem to not be able to do a proper Kitchener stitch to save my life, so I just gathered up the remaining 8 stitches and tied them off at the top. I think this worked out because I double knit the mittens in a worsted weight… which means that they’re the thickest mittens I have ever held. If they had been thinner, you’d really be able to see the gathered portion… which wouldn’t be so awesome.

First Good Mitten

Top of Mitten

Please excuse the very bright flash business in the pictures. Either my pictures are out of focus because the shutter speed is too slow in the regular overhead lights or everything is a little over exposed with the flash. Oh well.

I’m very pleased with how these mittens are turning out. I plan on making one more set of mittens for someone at Christmas, although I will be making this pattern, and I will be making 3 mittens, in case the recipient loses one. I think that’s a great idea, and because the mittens are made for either hand, it will work out pretty well. However, the pattern looks a lot more complex than I had hoped, but I’m sure I’ll be able to muddle through it.

A small brag:  We all slept in until noon today.  I don’t know what possessed Kitten to sleep for that long (perhaps that molar that is just breaking the surface?  Seriously, 4 front teeth and the tip of a molar.  This kid gets teeth in a weird order!), but it was glorious.  Even Rob slept in, he who is typically up with the birds.  After we got up and got out the door, we picked up almost all of our Christmas shopping.  We have a total of 5 small things left to get.  This means that I don’t have to go to the mall any more!  Yay! 

