Kitten's Hooded Scarf

I have been working fairly diligently on a hooded scarf for Kitten.  Well, kind of dilligently.  Truth be told, I work on it when I think I have a half hour plus to work on it.  See, it’s a cabled pattern.  That means that there are portions of the scar that are twisted to rise above the other stitches to show a pattern.

Kitten's Hooded Scarf

The parts that are twisted are the cables.  You can see every other vertical “row” is a cable.  You do this by switching the order you knit by transferring some of the loops/stitches on to another needle to stitch the ones behind them first.  This is a 4 row repeat pattern, meaning that every four rows I do the same thing – take some of the stitches off on to another needle.  I make myself knit four rows at a time, so I don’t get confused as to what row I’m on.  When I pick it up, I always know that I’m on the same row.  However, it means that I can’t pick it up whenever I want.  It takes me about half an hour to do a set of four rows, maybe a little less.  If you want to count the number of twists in my patterns and divide that in half, that will tell you how many hours I’ve been at this scarf (seriously, I need to learn to knit faster!).  I do love the pattern, though, and I am SO PROUD of learning to do this stitch.  I understand that it’s not a terribly advanced technique, but it seemed really daunting to me.  Plus, I had to learn how to read a pattern all on my own (thanks, Innernets!) which made the project seem a lot more complex then maybe it needed to be.

I do really love the colours in this yarn.  They’re kind of a weird pink, purple, blue and green.  They’re all kind of odd colours, but they are stitching up so nicely together.  I thought that it would match Kitten’s jacket when I first saw the yarn, but sadly it doesn’t match at all.  Not that I will let that stop me from using it (or making her wear it!).  I am unsatisfied with the texture of the yarn, and I do wish that I hadn’t let the lady at the yarn store talk me in to using acrylic.  I really should have stuck to my guns and looked for either a merino or alpaca wool.  The pattern calls for a blend of those two.  I worry that because it’s acrylic, it won’t be as warm.  I suppose that on the plus side, I’ll be able to throw it in the wash with little worry.  It’s not as soft as I might like, though.

My only other complaint is that I picked up cheap needles.  Michael’s didn’t have the Susan Bates needles in the size I wanted (and the colour, because let’s be honest – it’s as much about the tools as it is about the project!), so I got coloured needles in a different brand.  They are TRES annoying.  The Susan Bates needles are nice and smooth.  Sometimes, I would even say too smooth, because my needles have fallen out of my knitting before.  However, these other ones (I don’t remember the brand name.  They weren’t the brand with “Lion” in them, that’s all I know Boye!  The brand is Boye!  The brand with “Lion” in them are pretty good, if you can judge at all by my cabling needles) are the complete opposite.  They grip this worsted acrylic yarn WAY too much.  For the first 20 rows or so I practically had to force every single row off the needles.  Granted, I never accidentally dropped a stitch because they were hard to move off, but my knitting was pretty tight because of the cabling that I really didn’t need the extra grip.  Now that they are starting to get a little smoother, I’ve noticed that the coloured paint (purple!) is starting to come off.  I would definitely NOT buy Boye brand again. 

Here’s a picture of the yarn I’m using.  Which?  I’ll probably not use again:

Yarn

I think I’m about 10% through this scarf, so it’s going to be a while yet.  But now that I have a different project done, I can concentrate on this scarf more!  Hopefully I’ll get it done before it gets too cold out. 

Ps.  Want a sneak peak of the yarn I’m going to use for my next project (baby clutch blankie)?  Look here

PPs.  I want this and this and this.  Oh, and this shirt, because it is WAY CUTE.

