Beyond the Reflection's Edge by Bryan Davis

Beyond the Reflection’s Edge by Bryan Davis 

Important Info:

Format: Trade Paperback

Pages:416 Pages

Publisher: Zondervan Publishing House

ISBN – 10:0310715547

Premise:

Nathan Shepherd has lived his past 16 years following around his mother and father – a great musician and investigator, respectively – until his world came crashing down when both of his parents were brutally murdered.  Realizing that Nathan is in mortal danger, he and Clara (his tutor) go into hiding with his father’s old college buddy and daughter Kelly.  Having only a mirror and information on his dad’s last case, Nathan must put together the pieces to solve the mystery of the mirror and his parents’ death before he and Kelly become the next dead bodies.

What I Liked:

I really liked how Nathan and Kelly played off each other.  I like the unique relationship that Nathan has with his tutor, Clara.  I enjoyed all the action and suspense.  I liked Kelly’s character.  She wasn’t perfect, and didn’t try to be.  She was in the stage of improving her life, but wasn’t trying to be perfect.  I also really liked that it was a book about Christians, not a Christian book (if that makes any sense).  So there was very little preaching (and the “preaching”, if you want to call it that, was more about how to live as a Christian, rather than the gospel.  Sometimes I get tired of reading books that try to convert people – evangelism is good, but sometimes I want to read something for fun that still has morals without having to wade through the salvation part again). 

What I Didn’t Like:

I thought that it would have been nice to meet the cast of characters before really diving into the action.  I was fairly confused about who I was supposed to like, and who I wasn’t.  I was also confused about Clara – who she was to Nathan, how long she had been around, and how old she was.  At first, I thought that she was maybe in her 20’s, and a big sister or possible love interest for Nathan.  I was also unsure as to how old Nathan really was, but that might have had more to do with my memory than the story.  I also had some confusion about who was who, when it came to the multi-dimensional characters.  Sometimes I couldn’t keep Simon Red, Simon Blue and Simon Yellow separate (each dimension got nicknamed with a colour, to keep everything easy to tell apart), and so I’d forget who was a good guy and who a bad guy was.

Overall:

I would recommend this book to it’s target audience – teens, most likely around the age of 16.  I think that both girls and boys can enjoy this series.  Some adults will be really interested in it, but I think that it speaks more to teens than to adults.  That said, I’ll still be picking up the second (and any subsequent books after that)!

 

