GRPR Blog Tour: The Sweetgum Knit Lit Society by Beth Pattillo

The Sweetgum Knit Lit Society by Beth Pattillo

Important Info:

  • ISBN – 10: 1400073944
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Published By: WaterBrook Press

Premise:

The Sweetgum Knit Lit Society has been meeting, knitting and reading together peaceably for a very long time.  Eugenie, a strict library who’s assumed to be the leader, brings in Hannah, who’s a neglected 13-year-old found ripping pages out of library books.  Instead of punishing Hanna, Eugenie decides that it would do her a world of good to meet with the group and learn to knit.  How will the other members react to the newest recruit?

Merry has her own problems.  Her marriage has been drifting slowly apart.  Neither party seems to be able to hold their three busy children together, but can they work through an unplanned pregnancy and other problems?

Ruthie has a secret from her sister Esther.  What will happen when the secret comes to light, and can they both live peaceably in the town after it all comes to light?

Camille attends the Knit Lit Society on behalf of her aging mother.  Looking for a way out of town, she becomes involved with the wrong man at the wrong time.  Can Camille escape unscathed?

What I Liked:

This was a well written book that I really enjoyed.  There was some head-hopping between characters, but it is required to bring everything to light.  I found all the characters likable, even thought I identified the most with Merry.  I think it was just that she’s a mom, and even though I’m not a mother of teenagers, I think I can still relate somewhat. 

What I didn’t Like: 

There were some parts of the book that were a bit too religious bent for me.  There weren’t all that many, nor did they last long, but it is a book about Christians.  So you have to expect that.  I didn’t understand all the knitting references, but I don’t really think that took away from the book so much.

All in all, I really enjoyed this book.  There have been very few blog tour books that I have thought that if there was a sequel, that I would pick it up – if there was one for this book (and I don’t believe there should be), I would totally pick it up.  I suppose that maybe I should take a look at Pattello’s other books, Heavens to Betsy and Earth to Betsy.  The Sweetgum Knit Lit Society is readable by all ages, but I think that adults would appreciate it more than young teens would.  They will be able to identify with Hannah in some regard, but I’m not sure that a young teen would be all that interested in the other people’s lives.  Plus the book does deal with infidelity, sexual abuse (or near case), and other adult themes (Pattillo doesn’t really address them directly – you never read about someone in bed with someone else, but it is implied). 

Please visit Beth Pattillo’s website, and have a look around.  You can read more about this book, her Betsy series, as well as drop her a line or read her Q&A section.

I really need to apologize – I believed that the tour dates on this book were in July, but it was at the end of June, and I missed it by a long shot.  I am truly sorry to Glass Roads Public Relations, and to Beth Pattillo for not fulfilling my commitment by participating in the tour on the dates specified!  Please forgive me! 

