Light Fantastic by Terry Pratchett

Light Fantastic by Terry Pratchett

Important Info:

  • ISBN – 10: 0552128481
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback
  • Publisher: Corgi

Premise:

Discworld is on a crash course with the malevolent red star, and people are going mad.  Ricewind, the unlikely savior, Twoflower (his unlikely sidekick with a penchant for taking pictures) and Twoflower’s Luggage need to rescue the Discworld before it’s blown to smitherines!  Meeting many unlikely friends and foes along the way, Light Fantastic is an adventure that you’re unlikely to forget.

Stuff I Liked:

Light Fantastic seemed a lot more funny than The Colour of Magic for some reason.  I’m not sure why, but it was.  I really enjoyed all the puns, and the humour in it.  I think that Pratchett is a genius, being able to make a story funny without losing part of the storytelling.  I enjoyed Luggage’s role in the story, and Twoflower’s camera.  I found the added viewpoints of the other wizards interesting and comical as well.

Stuff I Didn’t Like:

It had been a while since I had read The Colour of Magic, so I kind of forgot what had happened.  So I had to do a bit of guessing.  Pratchett is pretty good at catching you back up, but I still didn’t have the details of what had happened before.  It’s not really important to the story, but I would recommend not leaving months between the two books (at least not without a quick refresher).

I enjoyed Light Fantastic immensely.  I give it five out of five, and would recommend it to just about anyone.  Well, anyone with a sense of humour, that is!!

