The Darkness That Comes Before by R. Scott Bakker

The Darkness That Comes Beforeby R. Scott Bakker

Important Info:

  • ISBN-10: 0143012800
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback
  • Publisher: Penguin Group Canada
  • Pages: 622 (of story)

Premise:

From the Publisher –

Two thousand years have passed sinceMog-Pharau, the No-God, last walked among Men. Two thousand years have passed since the Apocalypse.

In a world wrenched by holy war and devastation, a sorcerer, a concubine, and a warrior find themselves captivated by a mysterious traveller from lands long thought dead, a man who makes weapons of insight and revelation. Unable to distinguish the passion that elevates from the passion that enslaves, they fall ever deeper under his thrall, while what begins as a war of Men against Men threatens to become the first battle of the Second Apocalypse.

Things I Liked:

The cover.  Every time I would go into the bookstore, I would pick up this book, and one time I actually bought it.  Based solely on the cover. 

Things I Didn’t Like:

Everything inside the cover.  Sadly, I barely made it past 100 pages.  I would find other things to do at night, other than read.  It just didn’t captivate me at all, and I found the story confusing.  There seems to be this prologue section, and then the actual story starts.  I have no idea how the two relate to one another, although I’m sure the author ties it in eventually.  I’m pretty good at reading books with complicated story lines (George RR Martin, Robert Jordan), so it’s not that I’m unable to follow along, but dude.  This book didn’t work for me.

I’m not sure that I would recommend this book to anyone.  I’m sure that some people love it, but I just couldn’t get in to it.  I wish I had called my brother and asked if he ever read the book that we both liked the cover of.  He would have told me that there was too much graphic sex and graphic violence for the story, and maybe I would have left it alone.  ::sigh::  I guess it’s $10 that I just won’t get back.  Oh well.  I give this book 1 out of 5, because the cover is pretty terrific. 

