Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow

I tried out a new shampoo bar.  It was lovely, and white, and reminded me kind of the old Ivory soap bars that my mom used to buy.  The smelled ever so slighty, and it was a beautiful gentle scent.  I used it for a week, and let me tell you!  My scalp has never, ever been happier.  It wasn’t itchy.  It didn’t flake.  It wasn’t oily!  It was perfect.  Seriously perfect.  But what wasn’t perfect?  Was my hair.  It was coated from about an inch down from my scalp, all the way to the ends of my hair.  It looked terrible, and felt even worse. 

I’m not sure what caused the waxy build up, but I have a sneaky suspicion that it’s our ultra hard water.  It’s really frustrating because a water softener is SO expensive (and I’m not sure I want softer water throughout the house – can I just put one on my bathroom and laundry pipes?), and I can’t very well dump Calgon water softener in my hair. 

I was having a really hard time getting the wax out, so I decided to go see my stylist.  I was due for a cut (it may or may not have been, like 7 months since I last got a cut), and I figured that she would have some miracle shampoo to get the majority of the wax out (I removed some, not all on my own).  She did, in fact, have miracle shampoo.  And, she gave me an awesome cut.  You can see so yourself!! 

Before and After:

Before 3:30 PM

After 3:30 PM

