Spellbound by Jane Green

Spellbound by Jane Green

Important Info:

  • ISBN-10: 0140295941
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Publisher: Penguin UK (PB)
  • Pages: 440

Premise:

Alice has been living a charmed life.  While running a successful catering company, she meets a high school crush – Joe Chambers.  They fall in love and get married, and live happily… for a while.  Sadly, Joe can’t shake his skirt-chasing ways, which takes them away from their native London to a small cottage in Conneticut.  Instead of slowly wilting as Joe’s trophy wife, Alice comes alive and takes charge of her life.  Will the new-found Alice be able to ignore her husband’s infidelity?

Stuff I Liked:

It was a pretty good story, and Alice was a great character.  I liked her friend Emily as well.  It was pretty well written, but there wasn’t anything about it that made me say “THIS IS A FANTASTIC BOOK!!!”  Except that maybe I finished it in 2-3 days. 

Stuff I Didn’t Like:

To be honest, books about infidelity make me uncomfortable.  I’m not really sure why I picked it up, other than it looked like a quick read for $3.  I was hoping that there would be more of a magic edge to it (there isn’t.  At all.), so I was slightly disappointed about that.  The other thing that I didn’t like was some of the language.  It was a little more than I thought was necessary at times.

Spellbound was a really great $3 book, and would also be a good book to rent from the library.  I’m not sure that I would tell anyone to run out and buy it right now.  However, I wouldn’t discourage those who like to read romance novels from reading the book – although I might recommend that they not pay full price for it.  I give it 3 out of 5. 

