Still Gummy

Kitten is 10 months old, and still has no teeth (she comes by it honestly – Rob didn’t get teeth until he was 11 months old).  If I were still nursing, I’m sure that I would be thrilled about this (although the gummy bites still hurt like no tomorrow).  However, we have been very proactive and prepared about the upcoming teeth. 

You see, I bought us matching teething necklaces.  They are Baltic Amber, and I bought them from “Inspired by Finn“.  I’ll let her explain what they are, and how they work:

Baltic amber has long been used in Europe for teething discomfort – helping babies and young children stay calmer and more relaxed through teething.

When amber is worn on the skin, the skin’s warmth releases trace amounts of healing oils which are absorbed into the skin.  Baltic Amber has some of the highest concentrations of Succinic Acid found in nature.  Succinic Acid is a natural component of plant and animal tissues.  It is very important to the body, and it has a positive effect on our cellular metabolism.

Amber teething necklaces and bracelets are made to wear, but not to chew! Baltic Amber is a fossilized resin, not a stone, and comparatively speaking it is much softer than most stones. The amber may not withstand the pressure of being chewed on.

For best results, the necklaceshould be worn as much as possible, and worn directly on the skin (tucked beneath a shirt, not on top of a shirt.) Infants/toddlers/children should be supervised while wearing thejewelry, and the jewelry should be removed from the child’s neck when he/shegoes to sleep.

The string the amber beads are on is designed to stretch when a good amount of pressure is applied, and break if necessary. Each piece of amber is individually double-knotted on the strand.  In the event the strand does break, only one piece of amber should come off the necklace.

What Other Benefits Might My Child See From Amber?  Among other thing, Baltic Amber can help ease the discomfort of growing pains, diaper rash, and excema.


I’m not sure that I’m completely sold on the idea, that I really believe that it works, but we’re giving it a definite, solid try.  I mean, the worst thing that can happen is that we will still need to use medication.  I really love mine because it’s pretty, and it gives Kitten something to play with when I’m holding her.  The only thing that I don’t love is that our beads are no longer round.  They’re getting funny shaped, so I don’t know if they are just getting compressed, or if they are “wearing off” or what.  I am going to email the place I bought them from to see what the deal is.  They still look fine, but I would have bought the chip beads (instead of round) if I had known they weren’t going to maintain their round appearance.

The Fine Print:  No, I don’t let Kitten sleep with hers on, or do anything unattended with it on.  I’m aware that it could pose a choking risk if she were to get it caught, or if it were to snap.  That’s why it’s only on when we’re with her.  If she needs to wear it at night, we double wrap it around her ankle, and that seems to work just fine.  I’m definitely all for creating a safe environment for my child, but I also don’t want to load her up with Motrin or Tylenol, so this seems to be the best solution for us for right now.  Here’s the pictures – The first one is me with Kitten all wrapped up in our cuddle wrap on our Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Rotten, Bad Day (yesterday).  That’s why I’m pulling a funny face.  The second picture is Kitten at the in-laws.  The third is to show how we wrap it around her ankle when we don’t want it around her neck.
My Matching Necklace

Kitten's Teething Necklace

Alternative Placement

