My Herbal Experience

Last night I did something a little wild… and a little crazy.  I made my own shampoo.  I boiled 2 cups of water, added 4 tablespoons of rosemary, 1 tablespoon of cammomile, 1 tablespoon of sage, and 1 tablespoon of baking soda.  I mixed it together and let it cool for half an hour.  I then put 4 oz. of Dr. Bronner’s* castile soap into a 16 oz squirt bottle, and when the “tea” was cool, I strained it into the bottle with the soap.  I also mixed half and half water & apple cider vinegar (ACV) in a different bottle for rinse . 

I tried it before bed, and this is what I know so far.  I rinsed first with the ACV, because my hair was kind of oily and grody.  I guess I figured that it would help.  ::shrugs::  I then washed my hair with my herbal shampoo.  It was super runny, so it’s the kind that you have to just dump on your head, rather than lathering it in your hands first.  It actually foamed up really nicely, which must be due to the castile soap.  It also rinsed really easily, but I have to admit that I don’t like that squeaky clean feeling.  I used just a bit of the ACV rinse afterwards, but made sure to give it a good water rinse as well – I didn’t want to go around smelling like vinegar! 

Once I got out of the shower and rubbed my hair dry a bit, it was still pretty torturous to run my fingers through it.  It felt like my hair was sticking to my fingers, and like I was going to pull all my hair out.  However, my brush went through it like butter.  Not a single snag!  I was pretty impressed by that.  It must have been something to do with the dampness of my hands, and my hair that was giving me that terrible feeling.  Rob said that it smelled like herbs when it was wet.

Anyway, I used the hair dryer, just to see how it would feel dry.  It looked pretty nice, although the ends look a little dry.  That might be because I usually deep condition the ends (I usually have an oily scalp and dry ends – for whatever reason).  It might also be that I just really need a hair cut.  ::shrugs::  I won’t say that I blame the shampoo on that front!  I then put it in a pony tail and went to bed.  It didn’t really have a smell once it was dry.

This morning, my hair felt pretty soft, and not at all oily.  It’s been a hot day, and it’s late afternoon now, and my scalp is starting to get a tiny bit greasy – not too bad.  And definitely not as bad as I had thought that it would be!  I’ll definitely be giving my herbal shampoo a good work out for the next week or so, just to see how it goes over time.  I think that once winter comes, I’ll have to use conditioner (I get incredibly static-filled hair!), but I think I’ll definitely be picking up an Alba bottle – their stuff smells DEVINE!

*  I just wanted to say that I am NOT a fan of their packaging.  I do not like their religious propaganda on my castile soap.  Presently, it’s the only castile soap that I have found in town, and until I find a different one… well, this is it.  I just wanted to point out that I am in no way endorsing their religion, nor do I agree with what they have to say.  Also:  I wouldn’t recommend washing your diapers with this, even though they say you can.  I can just see the microfiber/fleece combo diapers dying tragic horrible deaths due to castile soap!  And as always – keep this out of the reach of children.  I have no idea what the result of a kid drinking castile soap would be, nor the result of a small body ingesting a concentrated “tea” of the herbs listed.  Just because they’re edible, doesn’t mean that you want to have them that strongly.

