Finding Hollywood Nobody by Lisa Samson

Finding Hollywood Nobody by Lisa Samson

Important Info:

  • ISBN-10: 1600062016
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Publisher: Navpress Publishing Group 
  • Pages: 185 (of story)

Premise:

 Scotty and Charlie are on the run again, as Biker Guy is still on their tail.  They’re headed for Marshall, Texas, where Charlie has another food-arranging job for her friend Jeremy.  Scotty works hard at processing her parents death, and that who she thought was her mother is actually her grandmother.  Even though she’s trying to remain hidden in the small town, she ends up making friends with lots of the locals, and more importantly, Jesus Christ.  She learns that prayer might actually work, and that listening for God’s voice is important.  Will it all be enough when she faces Biker Guy face to face?  Will God protect her even then?

Stuff I Liked:

FHN was a really fast read.  You could get into it pretty quickly, and it ended pretty quickly as well.  Everything happened pretty fast.  It’s kind of quippy, like Gilmore Girls, without maybe all the sarcasm.  I liked how Scotty seemed pretty down to earth, and not too “made up”.  I liked her relationships with the people around her, and Charlie was a real hoot.  I do have to say that my favorite part was definitely the ending.  I won’t tell you what it is, but chances are that it will be your favorite part too!

Stuff I Didn’t Like:

To be really honest, I kind of felt like Scotty was a little too mature for her years.  Of course the life she led would force her to grow up a little, and she wasn’t above teenage rebellion… but I felt like her attitude about something was quite congruant with the typical teen attitude.  ::shrugs:: It could have just been me, though.  Otherwise, it was over all a good book.

This is a great book for all teen girls, and those who like to read about teen girls.  It’s a great beach book, as it doesn’t require a lot of thought to keep your interest up!  I give it a 4 out of 5.  I’m not sure that I will be picking up the rest of the series for myself, but I would totally buy it as presents for the teen girls in my life.

