CSFF Blog Tour – Mindflights.com

::runs screeching into the room::  Dudes!  I’m late!  I totally forgot that just because we had a holiday this past Monday does not, in fact, mean that everyone else does too.  Oops!  So, I’m a little late to the party.  For those of you who are not part of the tour, this week we’re looking at a webzine, Mindflights.com.  Feel free to check it out and comment along.  As always, there’s a long list of participants in the left sidebar, and you are encouraged to have a look around the other blogs and see if they agree or disagree with me (or just see what they’re up to!).  So, with no further ado, Mindflights.com.

Let us first talk about how the site looks.  It’s typical fantasy fair… which is not necessarily a compliment.  Back in ’99 I was IN LOVE with the floating and scrolling text over top a static background.  Now?  I’m kind of over it.  I don’t think it works really well in this application, although the webmaster has done a good job ensuring that the text boxes are heavily defined.  WAIT!!!  There are 12 skins available?  Wow.  That is a heck of a lot of choice, and right now?  I’m wasting 10 minutes looking at the skins, not the content.  There really are only 1 or 2 that I would pick.  I understand that they want everyone to like how the site looks, and that different browsers will show each layout differently… but I think it’s just excessive. 

Site skins aside, the site appears to be fairly easy to navigate, with a tool bar within the graphic header.  It’s easy to see the current content, the archived content, to find more about the contributors, how to become a contributor, or about the people who put out Mindflights.com.  They do have a small forum, which seems to be an excellent meeting and visiting place for authors and artists.  I’m not sure that the average joe reader would find much of interest there (and that’s ok!), but if you’re at all art minded, you’d like it. 

Here are some selections you can have a look at to get a feeling for the content of the site:

Heart of Fleshby Michael Bonett, Jr.

Martian Weatherby Mary Jo Rabe

Takin’ Noticeby Susan Plett

So there you go.  Some fantasy fiction, some poetry, and some speculative fiction.  I hope that you find something on Mindflights.comthat tickles your fancy.  And even if you don’t, you might find something in someone’s blog on the tour, so surf away!

