My Baby's Butt

I know that you all care about what I’m doing for diapers lately, so I thought that I would give you an update. 

I think that I had mentioned that I had picked up a Sandy’s by Mother-ease, and two Dri-Line Blue Dogs (with snaps).  I bought them from a store here in town, and thought that I would really like them.  I kind of do.  I seem to flip-flop about which ones I like better, and can’t really seem to decide.  They’re both ok, although Kitten is growing out of the Sandy’s quite quickly (I bought a small, as I wanted it to fit a bit more trim – the large seemed gigantic).  I like that it’s a nice soft terry, but it seems to get soaked very fast.  I’ve yet to have a diaper leak (knock on wood), but I feel like this one would be the one that leaks.  The lady at the store told me that she uses hers over night, but she can’t be serious… I guess each kid is different, but still.  I have a hard time believing that.  The Dri-Line ones are flannel, and seem to hold the moisture better.  It actually seems like they spread the moisture throughout the diaper, rather than it all pooling in one spot, like the Sandy’s.  I’m not sure if that’s good or bad, but I feel like these ones won’t leak all over the place.  The only thing I don’t like about them is that the leg openings are rather narrow.  The belly is a little bit loose, where the legs are fairly tight.  So sizing up probably wouldn’t be much of an option. 

I am still using the prefolds for naps, or when I run out of fitted diapers.  I only have three, so she usually uses 2-3 prefolds per day.  We are using disposables at night, otherwise that number would be higher.  Anyway, they seem not too bad, and I prefer the look of the Bikini Twist to the typical girl fold.  I do find that I have to adjust her carseat straps when she’s in the prefolds, and I don’t if she’s in the disposables/fitteds.  So, you can imagine the bulk added with those.  However, I feel confident when I put her down for a nap that she’s going to be ok, with 18 layers of fabric under her butt (in the girl fold, anyway).  They are the easiest of the three to take care of – they wash up really nicely, and dry quite quickly (the Dri-Line’s take the longest to dry). 

I believe that most of the issues that I have with cloth diapering is the covers that I own.  I bought one Super Whisper Wrap (SWW), and one Super Brite Wrap (SBW), both by Bummis.  I have complaints about both styles, as they are slightly different.  I use the SBW with the prefolds, because the extra leg gusset makes it easier to cover the prefolds.  There’s more room in them, is all.  This means that I tend to use the SWW for the fitted diapers… and it has too much bulk in the front of the cover for what we need.  It’s great if you have a boy – they need lots of room for them and a double folded diaper in the front, but girls need something a lot more trim there.  It’s annoying, because if the wrap was smaller in that area, then her whole diaper would seem smaller, and fit under pants better.  Lots of jeans that we have for her seem to fit all right everywhere else, but pull extra tight across her crotch and thighs due to excess diaper.  I’ve thought about ordering a smaller size, but I’m afraid that it would be too small other places (it fits great in the butt/hip/back).  My other complaint about both wraps is that the velcro seems to annoy Kitten’s belly, if she sits for too long.  It isn’t the same kind of marks around her legs, like sock marks on an adult, but more like a rubbing/chaffing kind of look.  It never wears the skin off, and each morning it’s completely gone, but I feel bad when I notice it.  I’m not sure what to do, as I don’t see a way to fix this.  If I tuck anything in to her wrap to cover the velcro, it will leak.  She’s not irritated by it (as she’s not cranky or anything), so I’ve kind of left it for now, and if it gets really red I change her outfit to something that will cover her belly better.

The other thing that’s going on is that Kitten seems to be a little more rashy.  There are lots of factors at play here: new foods, teething, diapers.  It seems like once a week I need to put her in disposables all day, just to clear up the rash (it really works!).  It’s possible that I’m not changing her enough, although heaven knows I try.  I’m chalking it up to a combination of all three factors, and it always clears up (and never gets very raw) and doing what I can for it.

Oh, and I’ve gone back to disposable wipes.  The face clothes weren’t doing it for me, and they didn’t feel soft against her skin.  The store-brand ones seem to do a better job with the poo, as well.  I suppose that I could go and run them under the sink, that would be better, but we just don’t have the time.

We’re adding something to our diaper arsenol, as of this afternoon!  🙂  I ordered 3 different pocket/all-in-ones!!  For those of you who need a quick crash course:  All-in-Ones are essentially the easiest diaper out there – the diaper and the cover are one piece, which means you just put it on and go, no mussing around with a wrap.  The outer layer is waterproof to prevent leaks.  A pocket diaper has a waterproof outer layer and usually a fleece-type inner layer (to wick away moisture), and then you can shove as much stuffing between the layers as you need, depending on how heavy your baby wets.  They are a faster drying option, and the most versatile.  After Autumn Beck’s recommendation, I went to Leslie’s Boutique and ordered the three diapers and a fancy wet bag (Oooh!  No more ziplocks!) for $60 (so cheap!), and she even ships for FREE to Canada.  I am soooo excited. 

These are the three I got:

  • Thirsties All-in-One Pocket in Melon –  This is an All-in-One WITH a pocket that I can stick extra liner’s in, if I want to. 
  • BumGenius 3.0 One Size in Grasshopper – This one has come recommended to me several times.  It’s almost $10 more expensive in Canada, which makes me so mad.  I’m just glad that I didn’t have to pay full price for it. 
  • Fuzzi Bunz in Bubblegum – This one has also come quite recommended.  I can’t wait to get it, and try it out.
  • The Best Wet Bag Ever (or so I hear) in Hula Hut – I’m not so sure why I’m as excited about this as I am.  But it has hula girls on it, and that will be awesome.  I was torn between that one, and this owl one.  I have had my shopping cart open for about 2 weeks, and have flipped back and forth between them for some time.  I ended up ordering the hula one, I think because it snowed (!!!) again today.  I bought the small one, with the zipper along the wide edge. 

Apparently, it’s supposed to be 7 day shipping, but we’ll see if it actually gets here by the end of next week.  I’m thinking not, but who knows.

I will leave you with a shot of Kitten at the park yesterday (yes, it was that beautiful yesterday, with snow and rain today).

Crawling Away

