Ecoholic by Adria Vasil

Ecoholicby Adria Vasil

Important Info:

  • ISBN:0679314849
  • Format:Trade Paperback (more like text book sized)
  • Published By:Random House of Canada
  • Pages: 343

What I liked:

Holy bat poop, this book has so much information.  It is really well written, even if it is a bit repetitive.  I’m assuming that Vasil repeats herself because she’s assuming that most people won’t read it cover-to-cover all the time – there’s lots of stuff to look up.  It’s a book written by a Canadian for Canadians, so there is a lot of really helpful (local) information. 

What I didn’t like:

I felt a bit helpless after, because there is so much crap going on.  I know that the cotton industry isn’t one that I can do anything about.  I can’t afford to buy only organic fair trade cotton clothing.  It’s just out of our league.  But I have to remember that I can afford to only buy organic fair trade coffee, so why don’t I start there?  I wonder if some of the information that she gives is slightly skewed to the scary side, just to get the point home, but I’m naturally a cynic, so that might have something to do with that.  She also seems quite anti-meat, which I’m not.  So it was hard to read that section without judging her a little bit.

 My only real complaint was that this book wasn’t easily available in an ebook form.  The publisher should have had that option for those of us who appreciate the 100% post-consumer recycled paper but still want it in digital format.  I do plan on emailing the publisher, but haven’t got there yet.

I’d definitely recommend this book to everyone who’s interested in what kind of impact we’re having on the world.  I’m not sure that everyone needs to buy this book, but it’s definitely worth looking for at the library.  I’m glad that I bought it, however now I have to go back with my little Post It flags so I can find stuff easily. 

