CSFF Blog Tour – The Begotten by Lisa T. Bergren

The Begotten by Lisa T. Bergren 

Important Info

  • ISBN:0425215601
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Published By:Berkley Trade
  • Pages: 430 (of story)

Premise:

In the letters to the Corinthians (in the Bible), Paul mentions another letter he had sent – one that was not canonized with the rest of the Bible.  One monk was entrusted with a portion of the illuminated (divinely inspired art to accompany the text) letter, as he was one of the Gifted.  He continued to search out other believers with extraordinary gifts.  He must race against time and various enemies to gather the rest of the Gifted and to figure out the prophesy that foretold their arrival.  With many enemies including a sorcerer, their own selfish desires, and even the Church, their battle is not an easy one.  Deciding who to trust in this time of peril becomes a deadly game.

What I liked:

This was an incredibly fast paced book.  Very little was wasted on unnecessary scenes, or description.  You got a beautifully described book, but it was straight to the point.  The author did an excellent job of delivering the book without preaching at her audience.  Bergren was also able to make us feel the terror and horror of the situations without flinging blood and guts all across the pages.  You understood that people sustained injuries, without having to conjure up the images of Saw IV in your head.  I also spent a lot of the book thinking “this is the hidden bad guy!” and changing my mind, like, 8 times.  So that’s excellent, as I don’t want to know the ending before I get there.

What I didn’t like:

I really honestly felt like I was intruding in to the characters prayers.  I understand that all the praying fit into the book.  In fact, I full well know that this is my hang-up and not a fault of the book.  I am not comfortable with public prayer (which?  I do not understand!), so reading someone else’s prayers makes me squirmy.  Other than that, I don’t have any complaints.  Everything else was pretty darn good. 

CSFF Blog Tour Notes:

To be honest?  I’m not sure why this book came through our channels.  It’s not Science Fiction or Fantasy by any stretch of the imagination.  Sure, it’s speculative, about what could have been… but frankly?  Most fiction is speculative.  The only stuff that isn’t would be historical fiction written about real events with fictional characters.  It’s not that I didn’t enjoy the book – I did – but it just seems like it didn’t really meet the requirements according to the title of the blog tour.  An “epic quest trilogy” does not a fantasy/science fiction book make.

I really like the questions in the back of the book, and I do hope to get to some of them tomorrow.  It will be really great if we can get some dialogue going on the major topics. 

Please visit the other members of the tour this month.  I’m sure that lots of them have lots of interesting things to say about the book!

