A little of this, a little of that

I’ve been busy, so I haven’t been updating.  Here’s a personal quicky, before I get into our blog tour stuff (next post).

  • I have mixed reviews on the diapers.  I kind of like the fitted ones, but I think that I’m not in love with the covers.  They are pretty, but they don’t seem to be the best ever.  I found an American site that will sell me fuzzi bunz for $17 a piece, and not charge me shipping, so I might order some of those.  That’s about $3 cheaper than getting them in town… which doesn’t seem like a lot, but it’s enough.
  • Kitten has been doing all sorts of new things, including pulling herself to standing (first in her crib, now all over), trying to eat cat food (if she can get to their dishes in time), emptying my purse and just all over general discovery (she looks under and around things to see what’s happening), she’s up on her knees crawling except if she’s in a hurry – then it’s back to the army crawl, and she really mixes up her constanents and vowels (rather than just the typical mamamadadada stuff).
  • I’ve been reading Ecoholic by Adria Vasil, and it’s very interesting.  I totally understand what she says about “greenwashing”, where people/companies try to sound more environmentally healthy even when they’re not.  It’s like products saying “trans fat free” when they never even had trans fats.  It’s mostly marketing.  Otherwise, I’ve been having a lot of internal dialogue about my habits and their impact on the Earth.  Vasil also goes as far as to talk about the human price of the things we love – slave labour, poor working conditions, etc.  I’ve found out pretty much everything is terrible, and that you have to pick your battles.  Personally?  We feel terrible about the cotton industry, but just can’t afford to buy organic, fair trade cotton (we also don’t believe that our bodies were meant to be wrapped in man-made fabrics).  However, I think that we can commit to buying coffee beans that are organic, free trade, and that have sound environmental practices (like Kicking Horse, which practices shade growing and bird preservation).  We can also commit to using the least amount of chemical cleansers in our house (the only one to go is toilet cleaner, and I have a recipe for a do-it-yourself cleaner), and reducing the packaging that we bring in.  I’m sure I’m going to do a whole whack of posts about this – it’s something that has recently become very important to me. 
  • We went to church today, which I haven’t done in a few weeks.  The nursery situation isn’t ideal, so I’ve been avoiding it.  I went today, and it was less than stellar.  I do wish that there was something that we could do about it, but I’m fresh out of ideas. 
  • My back is killing me.  I don’t know what to do, if I’m supposed to go to a baby salsa make up class.  Seriously ouchy.
  • Also?  Not enjoying baby salsa at all.  I wish I had tried it before I had signed up for a full run.  Oh well.  I think it’s just too much work with a 20 pounder strapped to my chest.
  • Kitten is 9 months old at the end of the week.  Yikes!
  • Also:  It is snowing.  A lot.  I’m sure that we’ve had almost 6″ of snow in the past 24 hours.  It kind of makes me want to poke myself with sharp stabby things.

That’s all I’ve got for right now!  I’m sure you’ll get a real full post from me in a few days.

