Holy Smokes by Katie MacAlister

Holy Smokesby Katie MacAlister

Important Info:

  • ISBN: 0451222547
  • Format: Mass Market Paperbound
  • Published By: New American Library
  • Pages: 341 (of story)

Premise:

This is book four of the Aisling Grey, Guardian series.  It follows You Slay Me, Fire Me Up, and Light My Fire.  In this installment, Aisling and Drake are trying desperately to get married, but things keep coming up… like summonings from Bael, dragon “stuff”, kidnappings, bombs, you know – the usual stuff.  Continuing on their story, poor Aisling has to find a way to end her proscription, her commitment to be a mate to Fiat, and try to help Drake with the ongoing war with the Red Dragons.  This is a hilarious story, which leaves enough room open to see it continuing on.

What I liked:

Katie MacAlister has perfected the sarcastic, butt-kicking heroine in Aisling grey.  She’s quite funny and real, which is a must for a good read.  The story itself is pretty sound, with very little that I stopped to think about or had to mull over.  I really like the whole book – there isn’t a lot to pick apart and say “oh, I liked this or that”, as it’s a pretty quick book.  Most of her stuff is, just because it’s so incredibly fluffy… well it’s just not court intrigue or rocket science.  And I’m ok with that.  I like the font of the title, it’s pretty, and the cover-art is pretty cute.  I’m just happy that it’s not photoshop.

What I didn’t like:

There was one scene that didn’t make sense to me.  We find out AFTER the scene is completed that it is a dream sequence, but during the scene I was really confused.  I thought that perhaps MacAlister could have done it a little bit better, although in fairness the character didn’t know it was a dream sequence until later anyway.  I do find Aisling’s libido a little high and unrealistic, but then I remember that it’s a ROMANCE novel, and dude.  What do you expect?  What’s a romance without boinking?  I also didn’t like that it was so short, but that isn’t really a complaint. 

Overall, I really liked this book and I give it a 5 out of 5.  There was both sex and mild violence in this book, so it’s not for all audiences.  It’s definitely a romance novel about dragons, not a fantasy book with a romance subplot (just wanted to point that out – there is a difference). 

