Birthday Week

It’s my birthday this week, and we’re apparently taking as long as we can to celebrate it (it’s how we roll).  Saturday night we got together with my family to have a joint party, as my step-dad’s birthday is in March as well.  On Sunday we went to my Dad’s house to have dinner with them.  My actual birthday is on Wednesday, but our neighbours are coming over for steak and margarita’s/birthday party on Saturday, and we’re very excited, as it’s been a long time since we’ve had BBQ steaks and margaritas. 

Since we were in a celebratory mood on Saturday night, Rob decided to give me my presents early.  I got some tasty truffles from Purdy’s and Napoleon Dynamite from Kitten, and Rob gave me a Nintendo DS and Brain Age.  I am so so so excited about the DS!  Rob said he had a really hard time deciding between the pink one and the red and black.  He ended up getting the red and black, as it looks fancier, and thought that if I got the pink one, I would match all the 10 year old girls out there… and yeah. 

Isn’t it pretty?  It’s red on the top and black on the bottom and inside (just like the picture).  I play a lot of Brain Age, especially the Sudoku part of it.  It’s so much fun, and I’m pretty good at it.  I’m not sure what it is about my voice that it doesn’t like, but when ever I do the speaking tests, it doesn’t like to register everything I say.  Boo.

Yesterday we stopped at Bestbuy to get a case for it, because I don’t want it to get ruined.  I got this one:

My star is actually gold toned, not red, and my mario is a little different.  I’ll take a picture of it when I have time.  Looking for the picture of this one, though, I saw the Princess Peach one and I kind of wish that I had got that one.  Oh well, I do like red, and it matches my DS better than the peach one would.  I also picked up Animal Crossing, and it’s awesome.  We haven’t set me up to go online with it yet, but I will soon… so if you have a DS and want to exchange friend codes, let me know in my comments, and we can email each other our codes! 🙂  There are a few other games that I’m going to get, but not for a little bit, as I don’t want to spend all my free money on DS stuff.  Rob is very excited to show me all the game review sites, and to help me buy games from eBay, as that’s where he likes to buy games from. It’s kind of exciting.

I am really impressed that Rob remembered that I had remarked that I wanted one a while ago (but never really bothered to actually say that we should buy one).  Plus, he remembered that I had liked all the Brain Age ads that came on TV, and would always try to answer the question before Rob would.  Basically – Rob bought me things that he thought I’d like and he did a GREAT job.  I couldn’t have asked for anything better!  Thanks Honey!!! 😆

