You Put Your Right Foot In…

Dude.  I am doing the emotional Hokey Pokey these days.  Seriously.  I feel like one day I’m up really high, the next day I’m down really low, then I’m in the middle, then I’m low… gah.  You get the idea.  And even worse is that sometimes I’ll go from really happy to really upset in 5.2 seconds.  That’s really frustrating to me, and to those around me, as they don’t always know why I went from Happy Kait to Sobbing Heap on the Floor Kait (today, case in point).

You take your right foot out…

Today was kind of a bad day for me.  Well, for us.  Rob had a crappy day at work, Kitten was beside herself all day, and that generally just sucks the life force right out of me.  It all started yesterday when we went to an early morning appointment, which threw off Kitten’s schedule completely.  This means that she ended up going to be at least an hour before she normally would.  Come this morning, she was up early, but we managed to coax her back to sleep until 9 (when she’d normally get up).  As per her usual schedule, I tried to put her down at 11 am for her first nap.  Things seemed to be going well, until someone rang the doorbell.  I was pretty cranky with the Jehovah’s Witness at my door (I was polite) as the doorbell seems to be the kiss of death around here.  Well, not 3 minutes later Kitten was just crying her little eyes out, refusing to go to sleep.  At this point, I was fed up with her crying and not sleeping, and I was so tired.  I ended up having to take a confusing phone call about our house and some stuff that has to be done, and after I got off the phone I just laid down on the office floor and cried.  Kitten sat and tried to pull my hair and poke my eyes, so I thought I should try to get her back to bed.  I tried to help her go to sleep, I let her play for a while, and in the end she cried for almost an hour before she finally fell asleep.  Not even 3 minutes before she fell asleep, I reached my breaking point and called my neighbour.  She didn’t answer, she turned the phone off while her little guy was sleeping, so I was considering going outside for 5 minutes or something.  Luckily, she stopped crying and fell dead asleep.  So deeply that I pulled the blanket out from under her and she didn’t even stir.  The only bad thing was that I had to wake her up around 2, so she would have an afternoon nap. 

You put your right foot in…

I did go to Costco with my neighbour, and we did our shopping.  It’s strange how just having a little bit of companionship for those mundane tasks really makes all the difference in the world.  My Social Sim Meter is looking much more full these days.  Anyway, Kitten fell asleep just as we were getting home, and ended up waking up.  I was hoping that she’d go back to sleep… but who was I kidding?  Rob got home shortly after I did, and I left for my massage. 

My massage was fantastic.  I love to see my massage therapist, and I think I work out a lot of my problems/issues while on her table.  I don’t think that she thought she’d end up playing mind therapist while she was performing massages, but I have to thank her for all the time that she listens to me working out my mental “knots” while she works on my physical ones.  Rob did end up calling while I was there because she wouldn’t stop crying and trying to grab the spoon to rub in her hair (seriously?  My baby is WEIRD).  He eventually gave her a bottle, and she fell asleep… which wasn’t ideal, but seems to have worked out.  She was still asleep when I got home, which was nice.  My mom came over to visit for a bit, and help entertain Kitten.

And you shake it all about…

Kitten woke up around quarter to eight, and was kind of grumpy.  I ended up dosing her pretty good with some Tylenol, as I was thinking that maybe she was teething today.  She’s 7 months old, so she should be cutting some teeth any time now.  I wouldn’t be surprised if that was the reason for her funk.  Anyway, mom played with her while I was able to make a bottle for her and get her bath ready.

You do the hokey pokey…

She had so much fun in her bath, it was like she was a different kid.  I’m not sure if the Tylenol kicked in, or if the bath just has magical baby-changing powers, but I was so grateful.  It was nice to have the break of my massage, but it didn’t recharge my patience batteries nearly enough (generally, only sleep and getting out of the house seems to do that)… so I was very happy to have her in a better mood. 

And you turn yourself around…

We managed to get her into bed fairly easily.  She cried for less than a minute when I walked away, but then she got entranced by the Rainforest Waterfall crib toy and I think that she just decided that DUDE.  SO TIRED.  Now I have an hour of quiet, free time to just decompress.  I can’t wait to go to sleep tonight. 

And that’s what it’s all about!

