Kitchen Things

Friday’s the last day in our Flylady.net Kitchen Zone Cleaning, so I thought that I would share with you a few of my favourite kitchen things.  In no particular order…

  1. I love my Norwex Enviro Cloth because it cleans my stainless steel appliances without any goopy yucky chemicals.  It takes me all of 5 seconds to clean them up to a shine, which is going to be very helpful once Kitten starts to touch everything.
  2. Worchestershire sauce.  It’s in my kitchen, and I love it, so it makes the list.  I used it in our Shepherd’s Pie last night, and it made it so much better!  I want to add it to nearly any beef recipe, but I know that’s a little overkill.
  3. My gas range.  I once dated a former chef, and he went on and on and on about the benefits of a gas range, and that really stuck with me.  So when we picked out our appliances, I put it on my “had to have” list.  I do love it very much!  It’s so fast and easy, and no annoying burner drip pans to clean!  Plus, it’s virtually indestructible!
  4. My pantry.  It’s so neat and clean, and both Rob & I can stand inside it and shut the door.  I lurve it.  One thing that I don’t regret is getting it with a solid door, rather than the glass insert.  While I try to keep it pretty clean and tidy, there are times when I wouldn’t want anyone to be able to see inside there!  Yikes!  It’s also harder to play Hide & Seek in there with my nephew if the door was glass.  I also love my pantry because it’s where I tend to hide chocolate from Rob.  Mmm… chocolate.
  5. Betty Crocker Instant Mashed Potatoes.  I know.  They’re powdered, but they taste so good, and if you make them with less water than they say, the texture is pretty close to real mashed taters.  I also like their scalloped potatoes, and I’m glad that I decided to give them a try!  We never ate potatoes before because I’m far too lazy to peel, boil, and mash real potatoes, so there you go.
  6. Leftovers in the freezer.  Because I’m cooking (almost) every day, we always have leftovers, which means a nice and yummy hot lunch for me.  It makes me so happy to be able to pull a meal out and enjoy it.  I definitely still have popcorn lunch days, but mostly, it’s food from the night before (or the week before, depending on what I feel like!)
  7. My Life’s On Fire: Cooking For the Rushed cook book with grocery lists.  I can’t believe that we lived without this book for so long.  I absolutely LOVE cooking out of this book!  I may be a little slow, but I do find that the dinner’s take a little bit longer than the book actually says, but maybe it’s because it’s the first time that I’ve made everything.  It’s possible that once I go through it a second time that I get faster.  I also think that I need a new chef’s knife, as the one I’m using is getting duller and duller and harder to chop with.
