The Quest

Tomorrow, Rob’s mom is coming over to watch Kitten so we can do the impossible.  No, not THAT.  Ew, not while she’s here!  I mean go buy a dress.  For me, as my cousin is getting married. 

I bought one on Sunday, but I think I don’t like it as much as I did when I bought it.  It is pretty low cut, and I think I can do better if I go to The Big Mall, as they have more shops with dresses and stuff.  I had a horrible time shopping for a dress on Sunday.  I’m thankful that I was able to go and be kidless, as it would have been insane to take her with me.  Anyway, I found lots of dresses that were pretty on the rack, but really not right on me.  I think I keep expecting to be a different shape when I get into the dress.  Like my old shape.  ::sigh::  So while I was staring at myself in yet ANOTHER bad dress, I realized that maybe I should consider purchasing a few foundation garments to give me an extra helping hand.  To say the least – holy crap.  I picked up a pair of Spanx Higher Power underthings.  Basically, it’s undies that go from your bra line (I tucked it up under my bra band) all the way down close to the knee, and boy does it suck it all in!  I could wear a size large with those amazing things on!  I would wear them all the time, but I’m not sure that it would be all that good for me, or all that comfortable.  For an evening here or there, though, they’re totally worth it.  After looking at the website, I notice that the sell bras too!  I definitely want to try one, and they even have a wire-less one, so I could technically wear it while nursing… although the don’t really carry my size.  So it probably wouldn’t be that flattering.  They also have things like pants, skirts, and camis.  I didn’t realize that it was so huge!  The even have a maternity line, although I’m pretty sure that it wouldn’t be all the comfortable (I didn’t even like maternity pantyhose).  Anyway, I love my spanx, yadda yadda.

So, tomorrow.  Tomorrow we are going shopping and I really don’t know if I will find anything.  I’m not sure why I’m so stressed about this, but I really am.  I just want the perfect dress, and I want to look pretty.  I guess I do want people to look at me and think “she just had a baby 5 months ago?  Wow!”  I know I haven’t really worked hard enough for a real “wow”, but I don’t want to look frumpy, either.  I just really really hope that I will find something. 

From what I saw on Sunday, everything seems to be empire waisted with really really tiny boob sections.  Which don’t even cover my nipples.  And frankly?  My dad totally doesn’t want to see that (nor do any of the other guests, minus Rob).  I did find one dress that I thought would look spectacular on me, but it was nearly $400… and considering that I only spent $600 on MY wedding dress, there’s no way that we could afford that.  So the search continues.  Wish me luck!

