CSFF Blog Tour – Scarlet by Stephen Lawhead Day 2

I wanted to talk about the copy of Scarlet that I received in order to review the book for this tour.  I have to say that I really like the look of the book, and I was very excited when I opened the package. 

In general, I appreciate and like hard cover books, although I rarely buy them as they’re fairly expensive in Canada.  I have to say that Scarlet is one of the nicest hc’s that I own.  I like that the finish on the cover isn’t glossy, but kind of a lustrious matte finish.  I do absolutely love the font on the cover, and how it’s used throughout the entire book.  I’m not sure why I love it so much, but I really do.  I also like that the cover isn’t just a boring photo manipulation – it looks like the artist put a bit of thought into it, anyway.  I felt that the font size inside the book was excellent – not too big, and certainly not too small.  I really liked the maps, although I’m not the type to keep checking the maps to see where people are, but they are nicely done.  The only thing that I don’t like about the book is that on the binding Lawhead’s name is bigger than the name of the book.  I’m not sure why, but that kind of annoys me.

All in all, Scarlet is a beautifully published book, and is definitely worth having on your shelf – not only for entertainment, but also for aesthetic purposes. 

As for the rest of the tour, we have some pretty interesting blog entries going on!  Trish writes a fantastic summary of the storyline, and her site is just beautiful!  Did you know that Sherwood Forest is in trouble?  Chris did, and she brought it up here.  Beth even managed to get an interview with Mr. Lawhead!  Check it outChristopher discusses the controversy surrounding how Mr. Lawhead moved the legend out of Nottingham and into Wales.  Becky’s created a cute quiz, how many did you get right?

Don’t forget to check out the rest of the tour, and visit these lovely bloggers:

Trish Anderson Brandon Barr Wayne Thomas Batson Jim Black Justin Boyer Grace Bridges Amy Browning Jackie Castle Valerie Comer CSFF Blog Tour D. G. D. Davidson Chris Deanne Jeff Draper April Erwin Linda Gilmore Beth Goddard Marcus Goodyear Andrea Graham Jill Hart Katie Hart Sherrie Hibbs Timothy Hicks Christopher Hopper Becca Johnson Jason Joyner Kait Karen Dawn King Tina Kulesa Mike Lynch Margaret Karen McSpadden Melissa Meeks Rebecca LuElla Miller Mirtika or Mir’s Here Eve Nielsen John W. Otte John Ottinger Lyn Perry Deena Peterson Rachelle Cheryl Russel Ashley Rutherford Hanna Sandvig Chawna Schroeder James Somers Rachelle Sperling Steve Trower Speculative Faith Robert Treskillard Jason Waguespac Daniel I. Weaver Laura Williams Timothy Wise 

