Today was day 1 on a new pair of shoes.  In review, I did really like the Nike 2:40’s, given their price, their fit and how they stood up to the two types of workouts that I do (both treadmill and sprint circut).  I think they did a pretty good job, and nothing (back/knees/ankles) hurt too badly (other than muscle fatigue, of course!).  Today I tried out my Pearl Izumi ES3 Seamless Uppers.  I bought them from the Running Room, and they were about $150.  While they are seamless, they do have a seperate tongue, which kind of irritates my feet. 

Overall, they stood up well to a treadmill work out.  They weren’t bad… but I don’t think that I really liked them.  I felt like they were heavy, and I was dragging my feet while I ran.  I seemed to get a lot more skidding noises on the treadmill, which freaks me out because that means that I could trip easier.  I was also really aware of the tops of the shoes, where they met my ankles.  I could feel them, and while they didn’t hurt… they just weren’t incredibly comfortable.  I’ll definitely try them again tomorrow, but I don’t think they’re worth the extra money (over the 2:40’s).

That’s them, by the way.  Apparently, you can get them in all sorts of colours, depending on the size.  Which is kind of cool.

I did talk to the trainer at the gym, and she was mightily dismayed at the fact that I can’t commit to more than a half hour a day.  I know they like to set programs for you to be at the gym for at least an hour… but there is no way that I can stick to that.  We need to do things in the evening, and If I was there for an hour, I wouldn’t get home until 7pm – it’s just too late to have dinner then do whatever else we need to.  So, we decided to do cardio 3 times a week, and the sprint circut 2 days a week.  That way my muscles have a chance to recover (kind of), and I’m going to burn the most fat that I can.  She did recommend interval training (working really hard for 1 minute, recover for 2), as that supposedly burns the most calories.  I feel pretty good about the program, and I’m hoping that I’ll be able to keep the program up.  I’ll be weighed and measured again in a month or so, and we’ll see how to change the work outs from there. 

Kitten was pretty fussy today.  I’m not sure if she’s teething or going through a growth spurt or what… but seriously grumpy.  She did have her good moments, though.  We had a laughing contest that was so adorable.  She even got a few giggly squeals in there too, which made it all worthwhile.  I love catching her laughs.  She doesn’t do it all the time, and when I try to get her to laugh to show someone, she absolutely refuses to do it.  I guess she’s just trying to tell me that she’s not a trained monkey after all!

