Sleep is a Precious Thing

Kitten has recently changed her sleeping patterns (although, not every day).  She used to wake up once a night to nurse, then she’s go back to bed, and all in all, she’d be asleep for about 12 hours.  These days, it seems that she likes to sleep through the night (yay!), but that tends to be only 9 hours or so, then she’s up for the day, until she has a good nap in the afternoon.  This isn’t all together bad, except that I generally only get 7 or 8 hours in… which is down from my usual 10 or so.  Even though those hours were broken by a half hour nursing session, I felt much more rested. 

I am fully grateful that I’m not having to get up to nurse every night.  The change has been less than comfortable due to engorgement, but that seems to be righting itself as well… so I am not complaining too loudly.  And truthfully, there are nights where she still wakes up wanting to nurse, and so we do. 

I think a lot of her newfound sleep patterns have to do with her being in her crib, in her own room, with the door shut.  I don’t turn the monitor on very loudly, so I can only hear her when she cries, rather than when she’s snuffling around or sucking on her fingers.  Thus, I’m less likely to jump right up to nurse her, and she most likely (as I’m not there to find out) falls back asleep. 

I have to say that I think her sucking on her fingers is just about the cutest thing in the world.  I know that it’s not desirable and that it’s probably not a fantastic thing for her to do… but when she gets her middle and ring finger in her mouth and starts to suck away, I just die a little bit from cute overload.  I don’t know why she’s not interested in sucking her thumb, but I think it’s because she likes to keep her hands pretty balled up still with her thumbs in – the fingers are more accessible, then.

Kitten’s been very good at independant play these days.  She enjoys time in her bouncer chair and her play gym, which allows me to do things like work on her quilt or watch TV laundry.  I really treasure the time I get to spend with her, but I think I almost equally enjoy the time I have without her. 

So, even though I’ve been absent… I’ve been really enjoying being a mom.  I’m so glad that I’m starting to settle into feeling good about it, and not so negative.  Hopefully now that I’m feeling better I’ll have more to write about (we’ll see!). 

