Oh to be Thankful

Some days I complain a lot.  Whether it’s out loud, or just in my head, I’m not sure that it matters much.  I find that I often don’t have an “attitude of gratitude” and the more I think about it, the more I don’t like it.

I’m a very fortunate person.  I have a great husband who loves me, and who is a great father.  I have a healthy daughter who isn’t all that fussy (even though she has her days).  I have the opportunity to raise my daughter at home, rather than having to send her to day care.  I don’t have to feel guilty about going to Walmart or Old Navy and buying something when the mood strikes me.  I have family that supports and encourages me.  The list could go on.

Yet… I whine.  I don’t get any time to myself.  I am not losing weight as quickly as I “should” be.  I don’t get to read as often as I want.  I’m always a “mom” and never just “me”.  And while those things are true, I forget that to get those things I would have to sacrifice what it is I have always wanted – my family.

I guess that as Thanksgiving creeps up on us (next week, for us Canucks), I find myself reflective on what I have to be thankful for.  I’m trying to reflect on what is good and lovely and praiseworthy, rather than dwelling on what I don’t have. 

What do you have to be thankful for this year?

