Swimming, and a Rash

Firstly, Kitten has a rash on her face, and I don’t know what it is.  At first I thought it was just baby acne, but it seems to be getting worse and worse.  It looks like little pimples, although some of them are really red, and some are just flesh coloured.  A few seem to look  more like whiteheads.  It’s only on her face, and doesn’t seem to be bothering her.  I’m not too worried, but wanted to see what the interwebs thought it might be, so here are my bad pictures:

So, Web Doctors… any suggestions?  We see our nurse/lactation consultant tomorrow, so I’ll ask her what she thinks, and if it’s still just as bad tomorrow, I’ll make an appointment with the real doctor.  Oh yeah, we haven’t changed detergent or used a new kind of soap.  The rash is only on her face, so I have a hard time believing that it’s allergies, as that would be over most of her body, right?

We did go swimming this afternoon.  I picked a pool that probably wasn’t the greatest, sadly, so it wasn’t the best experience.  The pool I picked has a gradulated swimming pool, but no kiddie/baby pool.  This means that the water was at regular swimming temperature – cold.  Every time I would dip Kitten into the water (or even try to hold her there), she would start to cry.  So I stopped trying to get her wet, and just held her in my arms.  For a while she looked around at everything; skylights, kids, water fountains, etc. and then eventually fell asleep.  Nicole and I sat around with our babies until we were tired of being splashed by bigger kids, and went to sit in the hot tub.  Don’t worry, the babies didn’t go in the hot tub, just our legs did.  It was nice to get out and be with another adult, though!

Kitten did manage to pee in her towel when I was changing her, but she was on her own change pad, plus I have the Most Absorbant Towel Ever (supertowel!) so it was a non issue.  But funny, because I had just wiped her all down and suddenly she was peeing!  Again!  She likes to do this to me, by the way.  As soon as she’s done being wiped, she’ll pee, so I have to wipe her again!  Grrr.  Or, she’ll wait until I’m done creaming her, THEN she’ll pee… and I’ll have to do it all over again.

Speaking of diapers, she had the biggest poo diaper today, that came up the front (again!), and got on her new shirt.  ::sigh::  Thank goodness for Oxyclean Baby!  It’s the best stuff in the world, and removes all sorts of stains!  Now, I just have to remember to treat it before I wash it!

After swimming, Nicole and I decided to wander through the mall which was only a couple of blocks away.  Kitten was terribly hungry, so we decided to stop at the food court for some fries.  For me.  Kitten just got breast milk.  The best part was that when I went to feed her, I realized that I didn’t have my nipple shield with me.  I could have cried.  It’s a good thing that I can kind of get her to latch on to my left side, and she drank enough to fall asleep.  I put her back in the Bjorn, and we managed to shop for about an hour or so.  Nicole bought a cute outfit for her little boy, and I bought nothing.  I could have spent a lot of money at Please Mum, but I managed to restrain myself.  However, Nicole and I decided that for the baby dedication at church, we’d wait until October or so, and buy matching clothes for our babies. Hee!  We’ll wait until October so clothes fit Kitten better.

It’s a good thing that I didn’t buy any clothes today – when I got home, Rob and I couldn’t find my nipple shield anywhere.  It was very frustrating, because I didn’t really want to buy a new one, as it just seemed wasteful.  But I was off to the drug store to replace the one I couldn’t find.  I ended up buying two – one to keep in my diaper bag, and one for at home.  After I got home, and got my two shields cleaned and put away, Rob found my missing one.  Under the bed.  GRRRR!!!  Oh well, now I have one for each diaper bag (yes, I have two – a small one and my regular one), and one for home.  This way I shouldn’t be caught unaware! 

So there you go – my day in a nutshell! 

