Self High Five

(otherwise known as TMI about Breastfeeding)

 

So, you know how I have wonky nipples, and one is flat and the other is inverted?  Well, the inverted one started to hurt like a sweet mother about 3 or 4 days ago.  I figured that it was just the normal hurt of breastfeeding and that I should just suck it up.  So, I’ve continued to nurse her like before, trying not to tense up and such when she nurses (it’s not just when she latches, it’s pretty much pain the entire feeding on that side, plus it continues to hurt afterwards.  Well, I noticed that nipple seems to be a lot less inverted, and a lot more… what’s the opposite of inverted?  Anyway, tonight I tried to latch her on without the nipple shield (her second boob, by the way, so she wasn’t starving) and she took it like a pro!  I don’t know if this means that she’ll just decide that she doesn’t need the nipple shield on this side or what, but right now?  I’m self high fiving.  Even though I didn’t technically do anything other than try her… but I still figure that it deserves a self high five!

 

We went to Walmart tonight to get some more diapers, and look at getting a pair of jeans for me.  Sadly, no such luck on either front.  The diaper aisle was dismal, except for their store brand… which tells me that it must suck if no one buys it.  I can’t believe that they just didn’t have any stock of the Pampers Newborn stuff.  This isn’t the first time it’s happened, so it’s very frustrating to me.  On the other hand, their jeans really didn’t fit, as the size 18 in regular jeans was a tiny bit too small, and the size 18 in the plus sizes was too big (not to mention not cut properly for me, and too short), so that was a total bust.  We then went over to Superstore to get diapers (it was across the road), and look at their clothes.  I could only find jeans up to a size 14, so I didn’t even bother trying them on.  I’m just not that slender yet!  Anyway, we did manage to find an outfit for Kitten in a 0-3 month size.  It’s not the cutest outfit, just cotton pants and a onsie, but it’s better than a kick to the head.  The nice thing is that it has long sleeves, so she’ll be able to wear it now and keep warm(ish).

