NB for Newborns

I’m a little unsatisfied with the children’s clothing industry.  We went to Walmart the other day to get some diapers and to look around at what baby stuff they had in stock.  I was with my Mom, and if you know anything about her, you’d know that she loves to dress her grandbabies.  So, we ended up looking through their stock to see what they had for newborn sizes. 

Let me tell you, we were disappointed.  There seemed to be only sleepers, and one outfit made for newborns.  And the outfit?  Wasn’t even a girl or boy outfit, but one that could be worn by either.  It’s still really cute (and I love her in it), but I was sad that they didn’t have any cute little pink outfits for girls.  Maybe their stock was just low, but it was pretty sad.

Even later, as we stopped at Old Navy to see what they had in stock for their 0-3 Month sizes, we were disappointed.  They had very little selection in that size.  It’s like designers and the people who do the ordering just don’t believe that people have tiny babies any more.  Or maybe the parents of the tiny babies are just putting them in sleepers.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind sleepers, and Kitten wears one every day… or rather every night.  I like to dress her in outfits, in real clothes during the day, and I just tend to view sleepers as pajamas.  Cute pajamas, but PJ’s none the less.  So, when I went to dress Kitten to go in to the office to visit, I was kind of at a loss as to what to dress her in.  She’d recently pee’d through all of her pink pants (which I’d just put on with her onsies), and she has no pink sweaters, so we ended up with her in her new Nemo outfit (thanks Nana!).  Which is super cute, but doesn’t clue the average person into the fact that she’s a girl right away.  Not that it really matters, but it kind of does a little.  Know what I mean?

Anyway, I want to find some cheap, cute outfits for her that are girly, in a newborn size.  Is that too much to ask?

Nemo Outfit 

