Pregnancy the World Over

Yesterday, Rob and I got a chance to visit with his cousins, who are here from Taiwan.  Brandon moved to Taiwan about 12 years ago to do missionary work there, and ended up falling in love with the country, and shortly after a lovely woman, Linda.  I don’t really know their story, other than they eventually got married, and had a kid.

With both myself and Rob’s sister being pregnant, there was of course, lots of talk about pregnancy and children, especially amongst us women.  It was interesting to talk to someone who had a baby on the other side of the world and to find out that it’s really not that much different!

Linda is a beautiful, petite Taiwanese (is that the proper term?) woman, who claimed to put away giant portions of food.  Because eating out there is so incredibly reasonable and not as unhealthy as it is here (more choices than just fried foods!), she would often send Brandon or her mother on food runs.  Her favourite thing to eat was tomatoes, although she has a slight adversion to them now!  Her sister was pregnant at the same time, and all she wanted to eat was sugar cane.  So every morning, their mother would head off to the market, and pick up tomatoes and sugar cane.  After the babies were born, the person at the market would automatically grab tomatoes and sugar cane, and the mother would have to vehemently deny that she did NOT need those items!  It was pretty funny. 

Linda would ask Rob’s sister and I “what we were hungry for”, which I like much better than asking what we are craving.  It sounds like a much more reasonable request.  Rather than an insatiable craving that is outside of ourselves, it was phrased in a “what does your body need” kind of way – or at least it seemed to me.  I think I’m going to start asking other pregnant women that – what are you hungry for?  Anyway, with Linda craving tomatoes, and Rob’s sister craving chocolate, Linda was awfully surprised to hear that I only wanted cheeseburgers and stuff with vinegar on it.  She seemed appauled that I would eat cheeseburgers every day… which I didn’t.  I just wanted them that often! 

We did talk a little about the impending birth, and how uncomfortable I must be getting.  It was very hot and humid yesterday, so I did manage to sit in a chair and sweat all evening, which I am sure was attractive.  Linda didn’t seem to care – I think that not everyone outside of the city has air conditioning, and Taiwan is not known for it’s incredibly mild temperatures and dry climate! 🙂  It turns out that Linda had a c-section with her daughter, and stayed in the hospital for five days… still longer for here, even with a c-section.  She seemed very concerned that I should be trying to have a natural birth.  It was mixed company, so I didn’t ask if she meant a vaginal birth, or a non-medicated birth.  I’m not sure what was available to her, in regards to pain medication, but I assume that it’s not that much different from here.  I do know that her and Brandon did take natural birth classes, so she might have really meant non-medicated.  ::shrugs::  I’m not really going to change my mind now – I really don’t think that I want to try to do this without pain meds!

Anyway, it was a great visit.  I really hope that one day we’ll be able to go and visit them in Taiwan, they’re a very lovely family, and I would really love to go see a part of Asia for myself. 

