32 is a Happy Number

It’s Wednesday!  Which means that I am officially 32 weeks pregnant, which means 8 Month Mark!!! Yess!!!!  Which also means only 8 weeks (2 months!) to go!  I’m very excited (if you couldn’t tell)! I’m so excited, in fact, I totally want to install the car seat RIGHT NOW, except that it’s awfully premature for that.  Frankly, I have bigger fish to fry, like learning about birth and stuff, seeing as how I can’t get into a prenatal class.  Plus, I don’t even have my bag packed yet (all the stuff is still on my spare room bed.  I should get on that.  Maybe tonight).

There hasn’t been a lot of “new” stuff that happened this week, minus the super swollen feet (thanks hot temperatures!), less heartburn (thanks prescription meds!), and far less sleep (thanks racing mind!).  There has been some new “movement”, like jumping jacks (or so it seems) and more dragging feelings, rather than just kicks and punches.

I’m fully over 200 pounds now, which is kind of sad, but not as sad as I thought it would be.  Probably because it was a gradual gain, not over night, or anything.  Plus, I know that there’s a reason for the gain, so that helps too.  I keep thinking that I’m really not that big for how many weeks along I am, but then I remember that I’m comparing to my boobs – and they aren’t small by any stretch of the imagination.  If you took them away, I’m sure I’d look like my belly was much bigger.

Sadly, my stretch marks are still coming in, in full force.  They started on my hips, and have been migrating towards the center of my under-belly.  They haven’t met up in the middle yet, but probably not too much longer.  I’m lucky that I haven’t found any in “weird” places, like my calves or arms or anything like that.  I have a few on the fronts of my thighs, but I’m not too worried about those.  So far, all the marks are on places that most, if not all, people won’t see.  What I’m super happy about is that I haven’t  had a single stretch mark on my boobs yet!  Maybe it was because they’re all ready full of marks, but regardless – yay for that!

Mom says that my face has slimmed out lately.  I’m not exactly sure how that’s possible… but she says it’s true, so I’ll believe her.  I have been trying to eat better, with veggies and fruit (even though my body seems to reject them), and trying to eat less in the evening (doesn’t always work, but I’ve cut my kraft dinner consumption in at least half!).  I know that this is crunch time – if I gain buckets of weight in the next two months, I’ll end up with a larger than necessary baby, plus I’ll just be heavy and uncomfortable.

Sleep has been hard to find, and I wake up a lot.  Mainly because I need to roll over – my hips get sore from laying on them.  Rolling over is getting to be more and more of a struggle, but I seem to manage on my own for the most part.  I am getting up to pee at least once a night (usually only once), but I don’t mind because it shakes my joints out and makes it easier to get back to sleep when I’m done.  I’m looking forward to actually being able to just get up when I can’t sleep, and coming back to bed when I’m tired.  I’m sure that will fully screw me up, but maybe I’ll sleep better when I actually do.

My very swollen feet came to a peak yesterday when they started to go numb.  I ended up going home from work to put them up.  I watched a full episode of Dr. Phil and one of Scrubs on my laptop, while I laid in bed with my feet up against the wall, above my head.  They actually did fall asleep, but when I took a nap (after those shows) on my left side, the swelling went down significantly.  By the time I went to bed last night, they were almost normal looking (my ankles haven’t changed much in shape, but at least the tops of my feet weren’t super puffy.  They’re swollen again today, but no where near what they were.  This past week we’ve had consistently high temperatures, close to 30 C every day, and today is much cooler, so I think that helps significantly.  I’m sure that resting in bed all afternoon and evening helped too.

These last few days have given me a much needed break from heartburn as well.  Basically, the dr. prescribed a higher dose of Zantac, which I take twice a day.  I will get twinges of heartburn occasionally, but it’s something that even one or two tums will fix immediately.

So, all in all?  I’ve been feeling pretty good, and I’m looking forward to the final count down of this all.  I mean, not so many days left of work, then not so many left of pregnancy, then a whole life time filled with diapers, kissing scrapes, and laundry.  Joy!

