Counting Down

It occurred to me this morning that I haven’t really been keeping track of how many days I actually have left here at work.  The truth of the matter is that I have far less days than I thought.  14 days, to be exact.  That will bring me up to the end of June (shorter week than most), and I am sorely looking forward to the days that I am not trapped behind this desk.

Don’t get me wrong, I like my job.  As far as jobs go?  it’s really quite excellent.  As long as the work that I’ve agreed to do is done on time and well, I don’t get hassled.  I get to help people with their computers (which I enjoy), and do various different “artsy” type projects for people, which is also quite amusing.  Other than having to get up in the morning at a specific time, there’s not a lot about this job that I don’t really like.

That said, I do have big plans for when I’m done.  We’re not doing up a nursery until after the baby is born (and after our basement is finished – we can leave the double bed in the kids room as long as we need to, or at least until it becomes inconvenient).   I plan on taking a walk in the morning, before the day gets too hot.  Then, I’ll take a morning nap.  After that, I’ll work on my quilt (it’s been years in the making) for a bit, then I’ll be sure to take another nap or sit outside in the kiddie pool during the hottest part of the day.  After that, I’ll make something for dinner, and then Rob will be home.  I’m sure that most days won’t be exactly like that.  Some days I’ll be too tired/sore to walk, and others I will feel like doing nothing but watching TV in the basement.  I’m ok with all that.  But I am seriously looking forward to having my days to myself (I know that it will end sooner than I think).

Before I get to do all of that, I’ve got quite a few projects to finish up here at work.  I’m not really looking forward to this – crunch time and all, but at least I’ll have steady work, and it should be somewhat challenging.  I mean, my desk needs to be cleaned, my files all wrapped up and archived, and all sorts of other things need to be finished off.

I am definitely looking forward to being a stay at home mom!

