Remember Your Children?

Rob loves to sing Chris Tomlin songs at church on Sunday, and I can see why – they’re pretty great songs and very easy to sing along with.  While he was leading the singing this morning, we sang “Your Grace is Enough”.  The lyrics are as follows:

Great is Your faithfulness oh God
You wrestle with the sinner’s heart
You lead us by still waters and to mercy
And nothing can keep us apart

So remember Your people
Remember Your children
Remember Your promise
Oh God

Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough for me

Great is Your love and justice God
You use the weak to lead the strong
You lead us in the song of Your salvation
And all Your people sing along

So remember Your people
Remember Your children
Remember Your promise
Oh God

Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough for me

It got me to thinking – Remember your people?  Remember your children?  Remember your promise?  Who are we to remind God of stuff?  Why do we get to be so demanding of a perfect God who obviously isn’t going to forget about us?

After I had that little moment, I remembered that the lyricist of this song wasn’t the only person who cried out to God like that.  I mean, lots of guys in the Bible had these kinds of moments – feelings of abandonment, feelings of need and that God might have forgotten them.  I guess their cries weren’t so much to say “Hey God, remember me?”, but maybe more for themselves – like they could feel better about their relationship with God after reaching for Him like that.

I guess as I was standing in church with my hands on my belly, I realized that I am constantly aware of this child within me.  She’s not even born yet, and I am already ever so mindful of her presence in my life.  It made me wonder how people can think that their parents would be able to forget them (especially their Heavenly Father).  I know that there are bad parents out there in the world, but I would say that even they don’t just forget their children. 

I tried to remember a time when I felt like my parents had forgotten me, and I couldn’t come up with one.  I think I had felt abandoned during parts of my parents divorce, but I knew in my heart of hearts that they were aware of me, that even though they were caught up in their own problems, they were still mindful of raising the family they had started. 

I hope that my children never feel like they have been forgotten or abandoned.  I hope that Rob and I can be great parents.  I genuinely hope that as we strive to be better people that we will also become better parents, and that our children will be blessed because of it.

