We said we weren't going to, but…

On Sunday, I asked Rob to take me to the Children’s Place Outlet Store to see if they had anything really good on sale. I was expecting him to say no, or to be cranky about it, so imagine my pleasant surprise when he said “sure! That’ll be fun”. I looked at him to check for sarcasm, and let me tell you – there wasn’t any there! So, I kept all my snarky comments to myself – didn’t want to ruin the mood!

I was expecting to find one, maybe two things I liked on sale that Rob would be willing to spend money on. Instead, I got a couple of plain onsies, 2 half-sweaters (to put over a short sleeved onsie), and a dress that Rob picked out. I thought it would make a great “first day at church” dress, and he agreed. I had a hard time thinking which one I liked best, but Rob had his mind already made up, so we got the one that he had picked out. I have to say – he has pretty good taste!

First Sunday Dress

I was pretty happy with our purchase, and mentioned to Rob that it might be nice to stop at La Vie En Rose while we were there to check out their PJ selection (they usually have a good amount of cotton pajamas, and a girl can never have too many pajamas!). So, we stopped in, and I ended up finding a pair that I had really liked. So I was lucky enough to walk out of the store with those.

THEN Rob mentioned that we should stop by Old Navy, as he knew there was a shirt there that I had wanted (seriously? I should have fully RAN with this opportunity and not let him go home that day!), so we went and picked out the shirt I liked, then looked at the baby clothes there. I managed to convince him to get two onsies (so cute!) and a pair of jeans for Kitten.

Baby Clothes

There was also a white onsie that we bought there, with an embroidered flower on the front. I seriously could have bought A LOT more from Old Navy, but I didn’t want to spend us into the poor house (ps. If you are one of the people who will be invited to my shower, I really really love Old Navy’s baby Zebra stuff ::cough:: ) After this, we went home.

When I got home, I tried on my new pajamas without my bra and they didn’t fit AT ALL. I was so sad, as they were such nice soft cotton, and I thought that because they were low enough cut that I could possibly whip a boob out to feet Kitten, and that there was enough support that it would be able to hold a breast pad. Unfortunately, my very heavy nunga-nunga’s just ended up pulling the front of the top down and the back of the top directly into the nerves on my neck. Gah. So I decided that it would be going back, and that if I was going to spend that kind of money on jammies, I might as well go to Thyme and get ones that are made for preggo and nursing ladies.

So, last night we took my jammies back and got our money back (yay!). Seeing as how we were next door, I asked Rob if maybe we could by the Children’s Place to see if they’ve added anything to their $2.99 rack (seriously, everything on that rack was $2.99. How could I not shop?). He said yes, and allowed me to continue loading everything on to his hands. We even went over to the toddler section and picked up some 18 month stuff there too (just the cutest of stuff, though!). You’ll notice in the following pictures that a lot of it is red. It’s not my fault. Ok, it IS my fault, but they seem to be getting rid of last years Christmas stuff, and I just can’t help that. So, we spent less than $60 and got all the following pieces:

Baby Clothes

Baby Clothes (and Nybbles)

Baby Clothes

Baby Clothes

Baby Clothes

Baby Clothes

Baby Clothes

Baby Clothes

Baby Clothes

Baby Clothes

So, now I have to find out from the mommies out there – you’re supposed to wash kids clothes before they wear them, right?  If I washed them now, and the baby won’t wear them for at least another 3-4 months, would I have to wash them again, or is once good enough?  Also, I looked at both Ivory Snow and another baby wash brand last night and I HATE the smell on both… could I use a regular unscented (like Tide) for her clothes?  I would imagine that my regular Gain brand will be too strong for her skin (at least at first).  So, what are the rules?

I would really recommend that anyone who has kids, or kids to buy for, and a Children’s Place Outlet get over to their local store to see what they can find.  They have these $2.99 racks for all sizes, from infants up to their “large child” (I don’t know, early teens?) sizes, and lots for both girls and boys.  I’m so glad that my massage therapist told me about it!

The best quote from yesterday:

Rob:  Is that a Corvette?

Kait:…… No, it’s a Mustang.

Rob:  Oh.  Huh.

Yeah, we’re car savvy at our house (on the other hand, we did see either a Ferrari or Lamborghini the other day by Rob’s folks place.  We knew it was one of the two because we couldn’t identify it, and it wasn’t a Porche, but Oh So FANCY!!!)

