Bits and Bites

I have decided to break up with Orange Juice.  I love OJ, but we just can’t be together any more.  When I had it two nights ago, and woke up with killer heartburn, I thought that it was because it was too close to bed, and that if I had stayed upright, maybe it wouldn’t have happened.  So I had it with Kraft Dinner last night around 8, and by 10, I had 5-Tums heartburn again (even after having a glass of milk and an ice cream sandwich).  So, I’ve decided that OJ and I should probably part ways.  It’s going to be hard.  I don’t have the heart to ask Rob to break up with OJ, so the filthy bugger will still be coming around quite regularly.  I guess I’ll just have to resist his sweet, sweet charms.

Did I mention that I have three new stretch marks?  Yeah, I do.  They’re on my hips, and I was expecting them… but it was still a bit surprising when they just showed up.  I guess they’ve been calling to let me know they were coming for some time (you know, for, like, the last 20 pounds), but I just didn’t pick up on it.  ::le sigh::  At least they are small, and once they fade, they will be like the other billions of stretch marks on my hips.  It’s just a good thing that they weren’t on some new, pristine skin (like my belly).  That would have been sad, and would have marked the end of an era.  These stretch marks are just really a continuation of puberty… many, many years later.
Yesterday was my 23 week anniversary.  Yay!  I’m just over halfway through my second trimester, with one more month until I hit the third trimester.  Everything seems to be going great, and I have very few complaints (minus the heartburn, gas, and general tired-ness).  I’ve noticed, though, that I’ve been taking more time thinking about something bad happening which leads to the baby dying.  Like when I fell down a couple of stairs, or today, I thought I saw a guy yelling at a woman (turns out they were joking around) and I had visions of getting him to stop only to have him beat me and the baby dying.  It’s funny that I wasn’t concerned about miscarrying in my first trimester, when something was more likely to go wrong, but now it’s all I can think about.  I guess it probably has a lot more to do with the fact that if something DOES happen to the baby, it’s more likely to be my fault, whereas a miscarriage in the first trimester is something that might just happen, that you can’t prevent.  Don’t worry about me – this is pretty normal.  I’ve always thought about the worst things that could possibly happen to me.

I shall now leave you with an amusing link to a flickr site.  I recommend viewing it as a slideshow, and having a good laugh.  It’s all about funny captions on funny pictures of cats.  I lurve it!  Enjoy!

