Shark Attack

I totally forgot to post about this earlier, so I will relate my funny story to you today.  I hope that you find it as funny as I did.

On Saturday night, we had gone to bed as usual.  The two cats had crawled up on Rob’s legs and were sleeping there quite soundly (as they are wont to do, after I’ve started this restless stage).  I think I had been moving quite a bit in my sleep, as the blankets were pretty disorganized, and I was not quite in my usual spot.  So, when I rolled over, my arm went flying and totally smacked Rob, and hard.

I was expecting some kind of reaction, you know the grumpy “HEY!” or “Stop it!” or something equally “get off my planet”.  But no.  Instead, Rob let out this loud, high-pitched shriek.  This is funny for a couple of reasons: 1)  Rob is not a screamer.  I have never heard him scream on a ride, or for any other reason.  I’ve heard him shout with excitement, and yell at concerts, but never, ever shriek or scream.  2)  Nybbles, the poor dear, jumped straight up in the air about three feet (she sleeping in Rob’s crotch, on top of the covers, when he sleeps on his back) and I think that she started to run while she was in the air.  We didn’t see her for the rest of the night, and even in the morning, she still wouldn’t come near us.  The poor honey was probably dreaming herself, and Rob scared the crap out of her.

So, I’m laying there, saying “I’m sorry, I’m sorry” over and over again, expecting Rob to be kind of mad that I woke him up, and trying not to laugh as I am saying it (it kind of ruins the apology, you know?).  I guess I was awake enough to know what was happening, but not awake enough to actually stop my movements, you know (the part where I smacked him).  Anyway, Rob tells me that he was having a dream about swimming with sharks, and just before I hit him, the shark had started to charge him.  Thus, in his mind, my hand was the shark hitting him.

Anyway, we both got up to use the bathroom, and try to find Nybbles (who was no where to be found.  We’re still not sure where she went), and by the time that we got back to bed, we were both giggling uncontrollably because of Rob’s scream.  I did also manage to tease him all the next day about it.  And?  Sitting here at my desk, 3 days later, I’m STILL laughing about it.  I’m not sure what was more amusing, Rob’s shriek or Nybbles’ reaction.  Regardless, I don’t think I’ve laughed that hard in a long time.

I’m so glad I married Rob!

