The Day of Needles

I went to the doctor yesterday, and actually didn’t have to wait that long in the waiting room.  Hurrah!  While I did wait, I ended up playing Diner Dash on my phone, and passing the level that I could not pass.  So that was pretty good.

The doctor was very good about talking to me about what she thought was going on, and what we should be looking for and being careful of.  She did do an oh-so-fun pelvic exam, and pronounced my uterus, ovaries and fallopian tubes in good shape.  This means that my uterus is the right size for where I should be in my pregnancy, and that this isn’t an ectopic (tubal) pregnancy, which was my biggest worry.   She is sending me to get blood taken once a day for yesterday, today and tomorrow, to ensure that my HCG levels are progressing normally.  This is one of my least favourite things to do right now, but I understand that it’s part of the process.  She also took a couple of swabs to check for infection.
She also recommended that I take it easy for a day or two.  Not bed rest, of course, but just don’t go running or something for the next few days (like I would do that anyway).  Her thought was that it was just implantation blood that women can get, and it just took it’s sweet time getting out and onto my underwear.  If I get major bleeding, then she said that we can schedule an emergency ultrasound, but that her thoughts for now were that this is normal and ok.

I went to my massage therapy appointment tomorrow and was informed that my pelvis felt “different”, which is why my sciatic nerve has been bugging me.  I thought that your pelvis tends to move after the baby gets bigger, but surprise!  So I don’t feel so bad about my pants not fitting as well any more.  Oh well.  She did a very good job, though, and I feel much better today!

I had to take off my wedding rings last night.  My hands were finally cold enough that I could get them off, even though it hurt a lot.  I’m going to go today to pick up a temporary replacement ring.  My rings are really tight even before I got preggo, and I don’t want to have to worry about them cutting off my circulation, which will mean cutting off my very expensive ring set, and having to spend lots of money to get them fixed.  We’re considering having them resized, but we’ll wait until after the pregnancy is done to see what happens to my porky little fingers.  I’m looking for a silver ring that looks like a wedding-ish ring.

So, that’s what I’m going to do today.  Buy a new ring, and get some blood drawn.  Because I have nothing better to do.

Oh yeah, vote for RSM today, if you haven’t already – press the picture in the top right-hand corner of my page to go there.  Dooooo it!!!!

 

UPDATE:  Here’s a picture of my temporary wedding ring.  I quite like it, even though it’s not quite as thick as I’m used to.  I’m contemplating getting a second one to stack on top of it.  Click the picture to see the big size.

img_0124.JPG

 

