Because We Love Hospital Food!

My cousin is in the hospital again. He was diagnosed with Chrones Disease quite a few years ago, but has never seemed to care enough to get it under control. He managed to lose a billion pounds, and his blood levels are all out of whack, so he had to be admitted yesterday.

While I feel horrible for him, I really want to kick him in the shin (except that I’m afraid it would break). He knows how to take care of himself. He knows what to eat and what not to eat. He knows that he has a DISEASE that he has to MANAGE, or he will get sick. Yet, he choses not to. I feel bad for him because I know that cooking for one person is pretty hard. There aren’t a lot of recipes out there that are designed to make one or two servings. And sometimes, cooking just plane old sucks. I get all that, but HE HAS A DISEASE! THAT IS RELATED TO WHAT HE EATS! HE SHOULD BE ABLE TO CONTROL IT!

I find that a lot of people are like this. There is a gentleman that I work with who is a very bright, highly educated man. He has type two diabetes. Do you think that he can manage that? Heck no! He has insulin reactions, problems with gout, and has been put on sick leave until he gets himself under control.

So why is it that people routinely chose not to value their health? Why is it that most people couldn’t care less about their health until they are sick? As Canadians I would have thought that people would be more interested in not taxing our health care system, and avoiding the long waits in the Dr’s office.

Well, I guess I’m just grumbling. But yeah, this is my beef today (ha ha ha, I said beef, all like “what’s your beef”… NOO!!! I should have said “what’s your damage” because that was so cool!). So uh, yeah.

Note:  No playlist for you today.  I have only been listening to a CD, and don’t feel like making one up.

6 thoughts on “Because We Love Hospital Food!

  1. My dad was like that too 😦 He had diabetes and bipolar … I never understood why he didn’t treat himself better, I mostly blamed the bipolar but it has to me more than just that. Maybe it’s denial? Whatever it is, it’s sad.

  2. I know. I get frustrated because I can see that he could have a much better quality of life, if he would just stick to his diet and make sure that he actually ate (instead of skipping DAYS at a time). *sigh* I know that to be away from the situation allows you to see it better, but still. Dude.

  3. Kait, I hope he gets it together. I faced the loss of a very dear friend this summer to Chrones. And she fought to control hers, desperately. If you need any scare tactics, I can tell you a few horror stories to share with him. Heartbreaking stuff.

  4. I’ll let you know. My uncle and my mom are going to have the “come to Jesus” talk with him tonight (not the literal one, just the one about Chrones).

    I’m sorry that you lost your friend to Chrones. I didn’t know it was that serious, but I guess it really is.

  5. So sorry to hear about your cousin, Kait. And about your friend, Dee. 😦

    I used to be like that. I’d never take care of myself and I’d be sick all the time. I’d eat really badly and just beat the crap out of my body.

    Then one day I was at the mall with a friend and climbing the stairs made me so out of breath that I had to sit down for 15 minutes. It felt like I ran a marathon. It was a wake up call that I needed to take better care of myself. I just couldn’t help thinking that at 21 years old, I couldn’t even walk around the mall without gasping for air and getting exhausted, much like someone who is 80-something with emphysema.

    I feel so much better now that I’ve started caring and taking care of myself. It makes me wonder how I ever lived any other way.

    Hopefully if someone can get through to him for long enough that his health starts to improve, he’ll want to continue that routine because he’ll feel so much better.

    Best of luck!

  6. Thanks Ashley – I hope that he has that light-bulb moment like you did. I can’t imagine that he likes being in the hospital (not the first time). I guess it all comes down to a decision to take care of yourself, eh?

Comments are closed.