Michah by Laurell K Hamilton

Micah is a “novel-lite” that LKH wrote about Micah and Anita’s relationship, without having the main cast of characters involved. It had a slightly different pace, as it dealt with a bit of a different subject matter, and because it is so short.

I can’t describe the basic premise of the story too deeply, as it is so short, and I don’t want to give anything away. Basically, Larry from Animators Inc. can’t take an FBI zombie raising case in Philly due to Tammy’s health issues. Anita said that she would go to help him out, but she had to take Micah with her to feed the ardeur while she was gone. The book mainly deals with her and Micah’s relationship, which makes for lots of monologue, and not too much action.

There were a few good things about the book – there was only one sex scene, and while it was maybe a little too involved, it wasn’t as horribly written as some in the past. When I put this book down, I didn’t feel like I had just witnessed incredibly sluttiness. It was actually pretty tame. There were things that I could have done with out, but it was still pretty descent as far as LKH’s stuff is usually concerned. Another good thing was the zombie raising. I thought that her reaction in the cemetary, and what happened during the zombie raising was pretty interesting. I felt like the case was good, the basic plot was descent (for the length of the book), and the action was well thought out. I liked Micah’s character in this book (actually, I am a Micah fan), and I enjoyed finally hearing about how he was turned. There is also an interesting hospital scene at the end that I appreciated.

I didn’t like the ongoing monologue about what Anita was afraid of, and blah blah blah. I don’t do well with her whining in any of the other books, so this irritated me. Anita’s character is getting stale to me. I am tired of her “wit”, I am tired of her sarcasm and her bigger than life personality. I want her to be venerable (without the angst over it) and I want her to stop being so defensive. I kind of understand why she is like that, but it still bothers me. I wasn’t crazy about Nathaniel in this book, I felt like he was slightly… different… some how.

This book is brain-candy. It feels good at the time, but if you have too much of it, eventually you will get cavities and your brain will stop working.

I rate this book “R” for sexual scenes and violence. This whole series is not for anyone under the age of 18, or anyone who’s faint of heart.

]]>

