Busy Book

Well, my date book is officially full for this week. It’s kind of fun. Tomorrow I’m seeing Carolyn, and on Saturday, it’s worship band practice, then Candace (my new friend from the Court!) is coming over (and staying for my Debut), and after, I think we’ll be seeing Nicole and Curtis! Whoo hoo! Sunday, of course, is church, then off to Sherwood Park, as my nephew Josh is being dedicated, and the In-Law’s are having a party. Which reminds me: Phone Donna.

I’m very excited about our dessert evening tonight. A lady from work and her daughter are coming, and they are both new to the Mary Kay product line. It’s going to be a lot of fun, and I can’t wait to introduce them to my other friends. Rob is coming as well, so it should be a really good time. Mmm… desserts….

Candace is coming to my ceremony on Saturday! I am sooo excited. She seems like such a sweet girl, and I hope that we hit it off excellently! I also hope that our husbands really enjoy getting to know each other quite well. It is nice to gave girl friends who’s husbands get along with mine. I think I’ve really lucked out finding girls that I like at church with husbands that Rob likes.

Anyway, that’s about it for today. I’m still reading Dusk, and it’s going quite well. The plot has thickened, let us say. I’m quite enjoying the variance in character types, with some “new” races (at least races that I’ve not read before), and relatable characters. The magic and mythology involved is also believable, although I do keep trying to draw parallels to our own world… and it’s not related at all! The one thing that I think to book is lacking is description in certain parts. For example, there are people who ride “hawks”. But then they refer to the hawks having tentacles, and I just don’t really understand what they are. I get the feeling that they’re a really large bird/octapus hybrid. I wish that Mr. Lebbon went into a little more detail, other than they flew. I also find the language jarring, like when they say things like “screw” for sex. It just seems very… 20th century earth, and not so 23rd century Norleena (I think). Most everything else is fairly agriculturally based, and all that… so it just seems weird. Yeah, I just expect it. It seems that the language is pretty vulgar, so I don’t know if he’s trying to make a point, that the country and the cities involved are socially devolving (is that a word?), and so the language, etc. is going down hill? Or is just the way that he talks himself? I don’t know. All I know is that it seems to jar me out of the story.

]]>

