Harumph

I am at work again. I’m so tired of work. But I can smell my fabby perfume, so that makes it a little bit better, and I have a cheese muffin. Yum.

I decided not to read Dracula right away. I’m looking forward to it, but on the new message board, they have a Fantasy genre book club, and a Science Fiction genre book club. The science fiction book for March is A Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. I decided to pick this one up (the current cover art has been intreguing me for months), so I’m reading it right now. I’m on chapter five, and it’s interesting, although kind of strangely written. I’m waiting for more backstory – I know the general premise of the book, but they haven’t explained too much yet. I think that it will pose pretty interesting, as I haven’t read anything along these lines yet. From what I understand of the book, the US government has falled, and the land is now called… some name from the Bible. I guess there are women who are young and furtile that are used as “handmaid’s” for families (up there in the ranks) who can’t have kids, they get the handmaid pregnant instead. The handmaid’s are take care of, although they aren’t allowed to touch any one, speak with men, or anything. The government controls who gets to have girlfriends/wives, and all that. It seems like a super religious nation, who has gone a little bit too far. I like it so far.

My brother Sean has a pile of Terry Pratchett books for me!!! 🙂 Yay! I guess that I will be reading those soon too! I almost bought The Colour of Magic yesterday, but I’m glad I didn’t, as he picked it up for me yesterday! 🙂 Soon I will have to have Sean over to visit so he can see if he wants to borrow any of my books to read.

]]>

